WIAW: second breakfast. [peanut butter pancakes!]

13 Apr

Thanks for all your support on my half-marathon… I’m excited, if also super nervous! :)

It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means…

 

Breakfast

I was not feeling super creative this morning. I’m actually in a food rut recently… and kind of a life rut, but that’s a different story.

So I had oatmeal. Packet oatmeal. Don’t judge. I added protein powder, which wasn’t photographed (this was half eaten).

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter may also have been involved.

Second Breakfast/Lunch

I came back from bio lab (this was last Thursday) to find that our lovely Assistant Resident Director for my dorm had prepared breakfast to share as she does every week… I couldn’t resist a few peanut butter pancakes as a delicious, free lunch (balanced? maybe not, but hey… I mean, they were topped with bananas foster, that’s fruit! ;) )

These were not overly sweet and were just peanut-buttery enough. I asked her for the recipe, and I’d love to make them myself and fiddle with them (you know how I do… maybe some peanut flour could be involved?!) but for now, here’s the recipe.

Peanut Butter Pancakes
Happens to be the same recipe as this one here, evidently from Color Me Vegan by Colleen Patrick-Godreau

1 1/4 cup flour
2 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cup milk, dairy or non-dairy
1/4 cup peanut butter

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In small bowl or measuring cup, stir together the milk and peanut butter til smooth.  Add to the dry ingredients and beat just until a batter is formed.  Do not overbeat.

Lightly oil a nonstick saute pan or griddle over medium heat.  Spoon the batter by 1/4 cupfuls inot the pan.  Cook until golden brown on both sides.  Serve immediately.

I also had a salad (not pictured). I always have a salad. My salad included my usual bell peppers & cucumbers & lots of greens, plus beans and some nutritional yeast sprinkled on top (no, they don’t have that at my salad bar, I brought it from my room…)

Dinner

I can’t believe I’m admitting this but I had ramen. Yep, super-typical college student right here.

I will say that it was Koyo brand vegetarian, low-fat ramen… Still ridiculous amount of sodium and more processed than I would like, but it hit the spot.

There may or may not have also been some cookies involved… but you’ll have to wait for those ;)

Any advice for getting out of food/life ruts/monotony?? Especially while very busy?

Eat anything especially good today? :)

23 Responses to “WIAW: second breakfast. [peanut butter pancakes!]”

  1. Kimberley April 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Sometimes when I am in a hurry I have packet oatmeal too, so your not the only one :) ha ha !

    I wish i could get Cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter yumyum

  2. Tara April 13, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I haven’t had ramen in ages! I had Dr. McDougall’s vegetarian ramen a while ago and I really enjoyed it.

    To get out of a food rut, I try to make small changes. When I’m busy I tend to make the quickest things possible, but I might try adding a new flavor of jam or nut butter or using a different spice in something. Small changes eventually amount to greater changes!

  3. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    at least it was organic ramen =) haha! I would eat that right now if I had some! Takes me back to college <3

    Those pancakes look so flipping PERFECT! that is just how I like em! golden and fluffy with a crusty top!

    For food ruts I will start flipping through foodie mags and food blogs and start bookmarking everything that looks good. Then I tell myself I have to try at least one new thing each week. as for life ruts… on man. that one is a novel! the kind of novel that keeps writing itself! keep making "me time" for youself!!!! super super important. and btw – you rock =)

    happy wiaw!!!

  4. Jenny April 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I wasn’t lying when I said I was coming over for breakfast! Amazing WIAW! :D

  5. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 13, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m seriously obsessed with cinnamon raisin peanut butter!! It’s so delicious!

  6. Jenny April 13, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    want to know my favorite part of those pancakes? (aside from the fact that they’re made with my favorite ingredient ever, obv) .. the fact that you ate them off of a paper plate with a plastic fork. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one. Lazy college gals, unite :)

  7. I Will Run For Chocolate April 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I’ve never had the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB (Mostly because I’m not allowed to have PB in the house… I would eat a jar a day) but it sounds so insanely epic!

  8. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I enjoyed some amazing oats topped with peanut butter + peanut butter chips for breakfast, and I’m currently consuming a sweet potato topped with sunbutter and cinnamon! But you know what was even better? You’re chocolate-pb cookies!!! Without a doubt those little dough balls are my favorite cookies EVER!! My whole family loves them (especially my dad :), and I also took them to my trainer who practically inhaled them (he usually eats cookies over a few days but in this case, it was more like a few seconds!) Thanks for the best cookie recipe EVER!! :D

    And when can I come over for breakfast? ;) Those pancakes are definitely calling my name! :)

    It sure is hard to prepare meals when you’re busy! I often steam frozen veggies and accompany them with pasta or a whole grain like bulgar, barley, or oatmeal + a protein source like Greek yogurt or peanut butter (!!!). I also like to make extras when I actually cook something and then freeze the leftovers so that I have ready to go meals that just need to be heated up. I know you will find something that works! :)

    <3 <3

  9. Ma Ma Megan April 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow that ramen just brought back memories for me! I used to live off the stuff. The thought of eating it now kind of grosses me out just because I ate SO much of it.

  10. Ellie April 14, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    the food looks so good! Hmmm for a food rut…since you’re busy with lab and all, do you happen to prepare ahead of time? Like, on the weekends or something? Perhaps you can do repeats after freezing certain dishes you make in bulk? :)

  11. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 14, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    I would never judge your packet oatmeal- I actually like it sometimes just for a change! The cookies look tastyy :)

  12. movesnmunchies April 14, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    I FEEL ya on the food ruts– i was in one last week.. and my dinners ahve been NOT creative lately at all.. mostly just oats.not that im complaining!!! life rut- i AGREE TOO!

  13. movesnmunchies April 14, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    lets go do something crazy… like get hitched.. and break out of this damned life rut!

  14. This Italian Family April 14, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    PB pancakes sound fabulous. What a brilliant idea!

  15. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com April 14, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    I had an amazing omelet!! I am SO SO EXCITED for your half!! You are going to ROCK IT!!! Those pancakes are calling my name wow!! Thank you so so much for your hugs….it meant so much to me. I absolutely adore you and girl you are GORGEOUS!!!

  16. missymiller April 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Getting out of a food rut? I wish I had the answer. I have managed to “change” food ruts, though.
    Does that count? Rut to rut?

  17. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 14, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’ve never wanted to put anything in my mouth (TWSS) as much as that peanut butter!

  18. hippierunner April 14, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Yay! No matter what there are cookies involved lol.

  19. BrittFit April 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    peanut butter solves all problems!!!

  20. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College April 15, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I am totally in a life rut as well…something about the weather changing. Maybe because I know next year of school is my last :-/ blah…too much stress!
    Sorry to hear you are kinda feeling the same.

    Those pancakes look incredible…PB pancakes with bananas, I can’t imagine anything more delicious! I wish I could find veggie top ramen, I would totally eat that! I haven’t had ramen in forever.

  21. Mary @ Bites and Bliss April 15, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I used to lovvee Ramen! My favorite way to eat it was dry, though with the spices mixed in. That was when I was younger, but I still remember how much I liked that stuff- eating packs a day! haha

  22. The Teenage Taste April 15, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Those cookies look delicious! I love your pictures Nicole! That first picture of the peanut butter pancake looks so professional! Droolworthy.

  23. kissmybroccoli April 16, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    Oh wow! Ramen…THAT takes me back! I practically subsisted off ramen and mac ‘n cheese during my years in college…oh, and pizza rolls! What can I say? I was the queen of the processed food diet!

    If I get in a food rut, I just take a trip to the grocery store to find some inspiration. Sometimes all it takes is buying something different at the store to get you excited about trying something new!

Leave a Reply

