let’s get lost.

16 Apr

Or: A spontaneous Saturday.

I keep telling you I want to work on my spontaneity. But I guess sometimes spontaneity just has to happen. Here’s a few snapshots from my adventures to the farmer’s market and beyond this morning.

My school has the most beautiful rose gardens, and they’re just starting to bloom…

At the market!

At the farmer’s market itself, I sampled probably more than my fair share of oranges and apples and delicious hummus but didn’t end up buying anything (which made me feel a little bad, but…). I did, however, get lunch.

This was the menu board for the delightful Oaxacan Kitchen Mobile stationed at the farmer’s market. I’ll bet you can’t guess what I had…

It may have been 60+ degrees outside but this soup was still delicious. Not overly salty, just slightly creamy without cream (totally vegan and gluten free!) and with a slightly spicy kick. I LOVE carrots & butternut squash… soooo good. :)

These birds made the more seasonally-appropriate choice and languished in a fountain to cool off…

I wound up getting lost on the way back. For once, this didn’t faze me too much… I ended up walking the exact wrong direction on the street my dorm is on for awhile, which I realized once I hit some industrial buildings. However, I also stumbled upon a Mission Cemetery.

It was seriously beautiful and dripping with history. It also looked exactly like the scene from Phantom of the Opera where she’s singing about her father, with palm trees instead of snow…

I’ve never really been to cemeteries. I know some people visit them regularly, whether to visit loved ones or as a calm place to think. I think I just have never had one within walking distance from me, but I rather enjoyed this little jaunt. The only trouble was I desperately wanted to know the stories behind each and every headstone. Because everyone has a story, and these people lived out their entire lives…

Who did they love? What did they love to do? What made them smile? There were also a number of Italian and Irish immigrants; I would LOVE to know all about that! Luckily, I have a fantastic friend who has since promised to return with me so we can make up their stories ourselves in lieu of true answers. :)

By this time I had already somewhat figured out where I was supposed  to be headed; I called my mom to ask her to check online but thought better of it. I knew my anxiety was what was driving the phone call; I didn’t like not knowing where I was heading, or if what I was doing was right.

But as I said to her on the phone: I’ll never know if the direction I’m heading is right. I can only guess, go by feel, go by the signs around me and my own intuition. And maybe there’s beauty in not knowing.

And maybe there’s beauty in being just a little lost sometimes.

Have you ever gotten lost and stumbled upon something wonderful? 

Do you get lost a lot? I honestly don’t; my mom is notorious for her lack of direction, but mine is usually okay… with a few glitches, obviously. ;)

How do you feel about cemeteries?

24 Responses to “let’s get lost.”

  1. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 16, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    omggggggggg I want that soup! i’d eat it regardless of the weather! ahh! go steal their recipe =)

  2. katshealthcorner April 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    AWWWEEEE!!!! I love the Phanton of the Opera!!!! :D You are so lucky that you got to see a place that looks just it!! :)

    I love Farmer Markets!!! :) They always have the best deals! :)

  3. Jenny April 16, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Wow these pictures are beautiful. The pink flower is gorgeous and that soup looks delish :D

  4. hippierunner April 16, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    I love the way you ended this post! It was brilliant and perfect! I get lost a ton, I have the worst sense of direction; the other day I stepped out of Trader Joe’s and was like, where did the bus stop disappear to? I had been facing the wrong direction of the intersection lol.

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 17, 2011 at 2:06 am #

      I told my mom when I was lost and she was kind of wanting to tell me the direction that very thing and felt like it was a mini-epiphany ;) we’re all kind of navigating by feel but eventually we get where we’re supposed to be :) <3 n

  5. movesnmunchies April 17, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    ahh so pretty!! i havent been to farmers market in a solid 10 years… i actually have a REALLY good sense of direction so i rarely get lost!
    cemeteries are nice… but kind of creepy

  6. Ma Ma Megan April 17, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    The farmers market in my town doesn’t open until march 1st. I’m counting down the days. I can’t wait :D

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 17, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    I LOVE farmer’s market!!! But they only happen in Colorado a few times during the summer :( Makes them special, right? ;)
    Your pictures are beautiful! I love all the flowers. Flowers make me happy :D
    I don’t lost often, but every once in a while, it happens. Once my mom and I got lost while we were driving to a volleyball event, but we ended finding this adorable little park! Maybe we were meant to get lost :)
    By the way, my dad has been begging me to make more of you cookies! Of course, he tries to disguise it by telling me, “I think there was something not quite right about those cookies. I think you need to make at least another batch so I can try and figure out what it is.” Haha, my dad can’t fool me! But I think I agree with him that another batch (or 20…) of you cookies is in order :) :)

    <3 <3

  8. Kimberley April 17, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Oranges loook delicious! Love the farmers market!!!!!!!!!!!

    Spontaneous days are the bomb!! :)

  9. theflourishingfoodie April 17, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Love the spontaneity! Farmers markets are the best. That’s really cool that you came upon that beautiful cemetery.

  10. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 17, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Your pictures are beautiful, and would you believe that I’ve only been in a cemetery once? They kind of scare me, but your pictures are showing me the peaceful side of them that I don’t think about as much!

  11. Katie April 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I absolutely love roses, I think i love them even more since my gram was named rose, and she passed in October, I have plans to name my next child, if a girl , Elisabetta Rose, ahhhhhhh what beautiful pics you have here!

  12. Jess@HealthyExposures April 17, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I love this: ” I’ll never know if the direction I’m heading is right. I can only guess, go by feel, go by the signs around me and my own intuition.” So true – for EVERY part of life, not just the literal sense :] I can totally relate to it re: my life path right now.
    I used to be obsessed with cemeteries in a not-creepy way. I just loved the buildings (mausoleums) and thought they were beautiful. And perfect for grungy photo shoots :P

  13. snackgirlgoeshealthy April 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Cemeteries creep me out! But Idt they would in the day time though.

    and I have a “fairly” good sense of direction :)

    Looks like you had a beautiful saturday! Our weekend has been gorgeous too!!

    I def need to go to a farmers market! For our blogger meet up we should go to down town seattle and go to pike place or something!! Sound good?

  14. Olivia April 17, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    OH man, that soup looks soooo GOOD!!! Glad you had a fun time getting “lost” this saturday! So much more fun then my sat. was, which consisted of sleeping and eating…day after prom, woop woop! :)

  15. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey April 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Great post! Love the Farmer’s Market. :) Where you live looks absolutely beautiful.

    Hooray for Phantom of the Opera! That takes #2 on my list of favorite Broadway musicals. Wicked is #1. :)

  16. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Love the farmers market!

  17. Jess April 17, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Love the farmer’s market!!

  18. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 18, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    Farmer’s markets are the best!! And cemeteries usually creep me out BUT there is one here in Sydney near Bondi Beach and it is just amazing… really huge and lots of white statues. It’s so pretty overlooking the water!

  19. fashionfitnessfoodie April 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    I have an amazing sense of direction thank goodness! But i have been lost in bad parts of DC a time or two and that is NOT fun!

  20. happytalesblog April 22, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    My college had beautiful rose gardens, too! And you are certainly right, there is beauty in getting lost. You just have to have your eyes open to see it :)

  21. Heather @ kissmybroccoli April 24, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Do I get lost? No…never! Haha!

    I LOVE that pic of the flowers in the door! Gorgeous shot!

    I actually grew up next to a small cemetery. It only has about 10 or so headstones, but occasionally I would walk over and read each epithet and wonder what their story was.

Leave a Reply

