mama knows best.

18 Apr

My mom and I have had our fair share of arguments. What kind of mother-daughter relationship would it be without a few squabbles, or passionate yells of “you don’t know anything!”

I’m here to take it all back.

Because while I will probably never rely on my mother’s answers about which direction to go (trust me, she’s always wrong), there are some things nobody can do quite like Mom.

Like making my bed just right (I make it now, but it’s just not the same). Making my favorite soup. Preparing my morning oatmeal and bringing it to me in bed. Folding my clothes (still working on that…) Knowing when to call me because something feels amiss in the air (apparently brainwaves travel across state borders).

And knowing how exactly to time the perfect half-birthday package arrival so I receive it just before a test I’m freaking out about.

Plus filling it with the most perfect gifts ever.

I have been in desperate need of an oven mitt for awhile… my stand-in was my computer case, and that didn’t exactly turn out so well…

Please note I never showed her that picture nor did I openly complain about my lack of oven mitt. She just knew.


Proud owner of an adorable apron.


Two flavors: peanut butter cup & coffee lovers only. Could they be more perfect?!

These expire on the day of my half-marathon… it needed to be photographed ;)

And while my mama might not know how to make anything involving more than 5 ingredients, how to find her way around foreign cities (even with a GPS, mind you), or how an action potential works in the brain, she knows something pretty important:

I’m breaking out the superglue later to fix these. I’m on a mission. 

How best to make me smile at all the right times.

I love you mom :)

How can you tell your mom knows you entirely too well? Does she send you care packages with aprons & oven mitts, knowing that’s all you could possibly want? (Actually I’m probably the only weirdo like that…)

37 Responses to “mama knows best.”

  1. keepnthefaith April 18, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    What an amazing mommy you have!! Sounds like a perfect package at just the right time :)

  2. silvana April 18, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Love you!

  3. katshealthcorner April 18, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I love your measuring spoons!!!! They are the cutest things EVER! :D You are so lucky. :)

  4. hippierunner April 18, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Happy Half-Birthday! That is the best care package ever!

  5. runyogarepeat April 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Aw, sweet, mom’s care packages are the best! Those coffee lovers only treats sound delicious!

  6. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 18, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Happy half birthday :) I LOVE that apron! I have an apron obsession :)

  7. fashionfitnessfoodie April 19, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    That’s an awesome half birthday package!!! I hope you can fix the measuring spoons!

  8. Kimberley April 19, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    AWW care packages are the best ever :) One of my best friends just moved away so I sent her one, because I know how much I love getting them haha

    My mom and I definitly have had our fair share of arguements, but every week or second week she buys me a new type of flowers because she knows how much I am obssessed with them. LOVE her :)

  9. spoonfulofsugarfree April 19, 2011 at 5:05 am #

    Your mom is so sweet :) :) What a great box of goodies!!! You need to take a picture of yourself wearing that apron-it is ADORABLE!

  10. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 19, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    awwww thank goodness she got you an oven mitt! girl you’re dangerous with that computer case! lol

    ps: I’m a little mad at you. You won my giveaway didn’t know it b/c you don’t read my blog. jerk.

    I still love you though =)

  11. movesnmunchies April 19, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    WHAT A SWEETIE!! AH NO! im so sorry those broke- you can fix em! for SURE!

  12. The Balanced Bean April 19, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Aw your mom is so sweet! Mine used to do the same…its crazy how well they know us!

  13. BrittFit April 19, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    my mom always has the house stocked with gum for me…those almond crunch snacks look good :) btw

  14. simplynutritiouskate April 19, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    aww those are seriously the cutest measuring spoons ever I hope you can fix them!

  15. Jenny April 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    This post is so cute! Your mom is so awesome :D I still live at home so we still have our fair share of arguments. At the end of the day tho she’s always there for me giving me love, support, and advice :) Mom’s rock

  16. Hungry Dancer April 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Aw your mom is so cute!! LOVE those measuring spoons!

  17. Jess@HealthyExposures April 19, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Those measuring spoons are adorable!! Love them. And your mama. You’re right – they really do know best! My mom and I can read each other’s minds like nobody’s business. Sorta creepy, but I’m okay with that for now :P

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      I KNOW seriously! So creepy, but so wonderful… most of the time. Not so nice when I want to insert a little white lie… ;) Not that I usually do but if it were to happen it wouldn’t go so well. She always knows!

  18. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 19, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Don’t worry girl, if that’s the definition of a wierdo, I’m definitely one too!! :D We can be wierdos together! ;) You should see my birthday list… cookbooks, peanut flour, coconut butter, dishes. :)
    Ahhh… that was SO sweet of your mom!! And those measuring spoons are like the cutest thing EVER!! Moms are the best :)
    And happy half birthday girl!!! I’m honored that my birthday and your half birthday are so close together :)
    And thanks so much for leaving such a sweet comment on my last post! YOUR comment made MY day/week/year! :)

    <3 <3 <3

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      haha i was going to tell you the same thing about loving how our birthdays are aaaalmost exactly 6 months (and a few years but who’s counting?) apart :)

  19. Jess April 19, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    ADORABLE gift package!! What a sweet mom!

  20. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 19, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    I hate to admit it, but my mom is usually right ;)

  21. Parita April 19, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    This is so cute! I feel the same way about my mom. Its like she has these secret powers that tell exactly when to call me to make me feel better because I’m having a bad day. I hope I can be half as great a mom to my kids as my mom is to me! Great post!

  22. megpinkgiggles April 19, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I literally laughed out loud when I read you had been using your laptop case as an oven mitt :)

  23. Natalie April 19, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    i found your blog through your comment on kailey’s blog – your comment stood out to me because you said you go to santa clara!!! i went to high school literally 10 minutes from santa clara university =) i still consider the south bay my home, but im braving new england weather right now because i go to school in boston!! how are you liking santa clara? im glad i found your blog!

  24. Alexa @ SimpleEats April 19, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    This is freakin’ adorable. Made me miss my mom! My momma has the same weird telekinetic thing too…it must be a mom thing!

  25. This Italian Family April 20, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    Okay first of all, happy 1/2 birthday! And second, AWWWWW! I love this! Your mom is so sweet. I am totally in love with that apron! :)

  26. Lauren April 20, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Those measuring spoons are so cute! I was looking at some at Pier 1 that were berries or something. My mom knows me too well, too. She stops by work on her way home to share the hummus she buys at Walmart and makes sure that there’s a plethora of veggies and olive oil at her house so I have “shopping” options when I come over to do laundry. She’s the best! =)

  27. applesnoats April 20, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    your mom is awesome!!!
    plus I dont even like aprons and that is ADORABLE!!!!
    have fun with all of your goodies:)

  28. Emilia April 20, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    How sweet of your mom! My mom’s just like that and knows me much to well- i simply can’t ever repay her :)

    Miss you, girly! Let’s hook-up after all this school craziness end, no? :)

  29. Jenn April 20, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I’m pretty sure our mom’s are cut from the same block. My mom used to send me a package at college every other week. Not only was it packed with great stuff, she would decorate the outside of the box in the most ridiculous ways! I’m pretty sure everyone in the mailroom could identify my mail before they looked at the addressee. Best of luck on your exams!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bootylicious! « Moves 'N Munchies - April 18, 2011

    […] 7. Nicole (nicolecooks) […]

  2. WIAW: another wacky wednesday. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 20, 2011

    […] some of their nutrients may help depression) and somehow my mom magically knew this (because she always does, right?) and sent me a ton of almonds. I didn’t take a picture of the inside of this bag, but […]

  3. monday miscellany. « Of Cookies & Carrots - April 25, 2011

    […] came in that fabulous package from my mom and was the first thing I tore into before my test. Oh my gosh. So […]

  4. mother’s-day muffins [cappuccino muffins] « Of Cookies & Carrots - May 8, 2011

    […] Only my mother could put up with my incessant chatter, constant whining, the perpetually dirty kitchen & ever-dwindling supply of flour and sugar. Only my mother would make me breakfast in bed almost every day, & make my bed when I “forget” to. Only my mother thinks I’m the coolest thing since sliced bread so I should write a book/open a cookie shop (ah, delusions). Only my mother magically receives telepathic messages when I’m not feeling okay, and knows how to put a smile back on my face. […]

Leave a Reply

