WIAW: another wacky wednesday.

20 Apr

It’s 4/20… would it be suitable to forgo the illegal substances/”getting baked” in favor of baking something instead (I’m so punny!)? I think so. but I also don’t think I have time to, so I’ll just dream about it. (In case you’re not a college student in Northern California where today is apparently a bigger deal than Christmas, click here for an explanation. Funnily enough we learned all about a variety of drugs and their effects on the brain in neuropsychology today… the prof had no idea :) )

But more important than what people are or aren’t smoking today is what we’re eating. Because, after all, it’s a Wednesday. (I’m thinking we need a Rebecca Black parody for WIAW…)

This is mostly from one day, but they aren’t entirely meals… more like snacks at different hours. I had a few meals interspersed but I didn’t photograph them. I’m sharing anyways ;)

Breakfast: Savory Oats

I tried something different and mixed in an egg white into my oats, then put some salt and topped with nooch. (don’t worry, mom, I microwaved the egg and it was entirely cooked). Could’ve used a little something else, but it was decent.

Lunch: Pizza-ish sandwiches

Took some sandwich thins and just a little bit of marinara, sprinkled with nooch, and added the usual veggies.

Not super picturesque, but yummy and easy. More of a “snack” than a full meal but I had a good salad with it.

Dinner: Not pictured.

This really awesome roasted-veggie soup my school made… I don’t recall seeing that variety here before but was delightful. Then again I just love soup…

Some snacks… Not all from the same day, but hey. :)

Mrs. Mays

My mom sent me these… and this bag is definitely already gone. I’ve been wanting to add more almonds in my diet (because they’re delicious and because some of their nutrients may help depression) and somehow my mom magically knew this (because she always does, right?) and sent me a ton of almonds. I didn’t take a picture of the inside of this bag, but basically they’re clusters of just slightly sweet & salty almondy goodness. So whole. So delicious. So gone. :(

Banana & PB

I put some peanut butter bumpers on part of them… 

I felt like Carrie. Which is always a good thing. ;)

Semi-failed micro-cornbread

Ashley at The Edible Perspective makes the most delicious food ever… I made one of her buckwheat bakes over break (I’ll post about it one of these days!) and fell a little bit in love. So when I saw her cornbread twist for the microwave, I wanted to try it.

Except I don’t have cornflour (though I have a ton of cornmeal, remember?) and I wanted a small snack, not a huge breakfast. So I took the general idea and changed it completely (I kind of always do).

I didn’t mix it quite well enough in the mug I microwaved in, so the bottom was gooier (gooey-er? who knows) and it fell apart, but here’s the gist of the recipe I used (I’ll work on it though!)

Micro-cornbread Muffin for One

1/4 banana, mashed (or 2 tablespoons applesauce, pumpkin, etc, for different flavor)
3 tablespoons nondairy milk
1 teaspoon ground flax
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 tablespoon peanut flour or regular flour (I used peanut flour for protein)
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
stevia/sweetener of choice, to taste
dash of salt
dash of cinnamon

In a small bowl, mash banana and combine with milk and flax. Let sit for a few minutes. Stir in dry ingredients until just combined, taking care not to overmix. Lightly grease a mug and pour batter in. Microwave for about a minute, possibly a little more (mine was clearly a little underdone, though the banana was also not fully mixed in…)

Pretty good, though it needs some tweaking (maybe some peanut butter baked in, instead of eventually put on top?). ;) Using almond milk, this little puppy has 130 calories and 6 grams of protein. Not too shabby.

Okay, I’m out for today. You know how I’m celebrating 4/20?

Watching Tangled. Completely sober. With my friends. And I could NOT be happier at the prospect. :)

What are you up to today? Had you heard of this whole “4/20” shenanigans? Ah, California…

Eat anything good recently? :)

As a post-script disclaimer: I’m not currently discussing how I feel about drug use, but I don’t do drugs. In case you were curious. 

28 Responses to “WIAW: another wacky wednesday.”

  1. hippierunner April 20, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    I wanna watch Tangled too! I haven’t seen it yet. :(

    Even though Severin and I don’t do drugs, I always always tease him and go ‘whooo!! 4:20!!” whenever it’s that time. I hate to share this but my neighborhood in LA has more pot dispensaries than all of the entire East Bay (because of these crazy loopholes in the law there)…so yeah, I know about 4/20 lol.

  2. Kimberley April 20, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Well they “celebrate” the whole 4/20 here where I live In NL, Canada too! haha although I just had to explain to my parents what it was.

    Good eats…Im on a smoothie kick :)

  3. getfitsummer2011 April 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Mm! The oats sound good! I love nooch and eggs!

  4. Jess April 20, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Gotta love WEDNESDAYS!! ;) Happy hump day!

  5. Jess@HealthyExposures April 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    haha, don’t worry – it’s not just California! Of course, Vermont is sort of a hippie state, which is maybe why I’m not new to the 4/20 thing :P My boss was talking about how he heard the same Afroman song (“And then I got high”) on two diff. radio stations at the same time today. I just had to laugh a little and suggest that it wasn’t the radio stations copying each other – it was the day. He didn’t get it at first, but luckily my coworker explained (by shouting “reefer madness!” no less.) so I didn’t have to :P
    anyways. I was sent some of those ms. may’s clusters and seriously adored them. they are addicting!! Love the cornbread muffin, too. Of course, I’m sort of a cornbread fiend :P

  6. katshealthcorner April 20, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    We just got Tangled from Netflix. I can’t wait to see it!!! I just watched Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader tonight. It was AMAZING! :D I have a huge crush on Prince Caspian. ;)

  7. Stephanie April 20, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Haha, I like how your cornbread kind of has a smiley face in your mug =)
    I’m studying today for an exam I have tomorrow afternoon. I don’t do drugs (or drink, or eat crap food), but a lot of people at my school participate in 420, which is really unfortunate because everyone just starts acting stupid and my floor on res smells HORRIBLE. Ugh. The closest I got to marijuana was with the hemp seeds I put on my salad, but they’re from a totally different plant so I don’t think it counts.

  8. keepnthefaith April 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Oooo I like the cornbread in a mug idea!! I love some cornbread, but never want to bake a full pan since I’m the only one who likes it!! This however, fixes my problem :)

  9. oatsandspice April 20, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    What a great ideas to microwave a cornbread muffin – I must try this because I have a ton of cornmeal sitting in my pantry waiting to be used :)

  10. kissmybroccoli April 20, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I totally forgot today was 4/20. I can’t believe it is such a huge deal where you are…wait, nevermind…with all those California hippies? Forget I said anything! ;)

    Allow me to offer up a bit of genius: your savory oats are missing…salsa! I swear the combo of oats, nooch, and salsa is AHHHHHHmazing! You have to try it!

    I want to see Tangled! It looks so cute! Let me know if it’s worth the buy! Night sweetie!

  11. runyogarepeat April 20, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Tangled is SO cute, enjoy it! I was wondering why the gym was so empty this afternoon during the normal busy time, then I remembered it was 4/20.

  12. Jenny April 20, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Your post disclaimer is awesome!! Today was a chill day, I hung out with the bf all day. I ate some pretty good pizza and oreo pie lately :D yummm

  13. simplynutritiouskate April 20, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    pizza sandwiches are sucha creative idea, love it!

  14. theflourishingfoodie April 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Haha I love the pun! Rebecca Black parody for Wendesday? Heck yes! haha. The pizza sandwiches look yummy :)

  15. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 20, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Mrs. Mays has the best nut snacks everr! I was so excited when I found out they were sold in Australia! And yes, moms always know best :)

  16. kbwood April 20, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    loveee savory oats! im glad you ate more than that- what you posted is hardly anything!!! take care of yourself girl <3

  17. movesnmunchies April 21, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    um that cornmuffin is like the coolest idea ever… AHAHAAH oh it tis great to feel like me… :P…. LOVE THE NANER :D :D

  18. Jessie April 21, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    Yum. That all looks so good! I love those sandwich thins. We use them for everything!

  19. Rachel (tea and chocolate) April 21, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Totally forgot yesterday was 4/20! I think I would preferred watching Tangled too. It sounds like such a cute movie!

  20. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody April 21, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    Tangled is such a great movie, I hope you enjoyed it!
    P.S – I like your post-script disclaimer :)

  21. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 21, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Love those pizza sandwich thingies! And happy 4/20 to you too ;)

  22. Katie April 21, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    We bought tangled three weeks ago and have not watched it yet! Im hoping to this weekend!

    I need to join in on the WIAW party, i always say that but forget : p

  23. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 21, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    ooh keep tweaking that corn muffin! I am OBSESSED with cornbread but i’m awful at baking it (I’ve had 2-3 fails to date) so I just buy it from fresh market for wayyyy too much $$

    help a blogger out! <3 haha! Happy WIAW love!

  24. Rach @ This Italian Family April 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Aww I wanna see Tangled so much!! It looks so cute!

  25. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Haha, 4/20… I definitely do not celebrate it, but I love to joke about it to my parents. They don’t think it’s funny, haha!

  26. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 21, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    What the heck is Tangled?

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      a disney movie. one of my favorites, it came out this year. I’m about 6 years old sometimes… but only sometimes I swear ;)

  27. missymiller April 21, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Moms = awesome.
    Something about that umbilical cord gives them special ESP or something.
    I love your nooch approach…looks similar to mine, which is one EVERYTHING (I bet you piut some on that soup, right?)

    I recently spread a banana with sunflower seed butter and raisins. Like ants on a log. Something about sunflower seed butter and raisins really works.
    Try it if you want!

Leave a Reply

