guest post: Knock Your Socks Off Cake!

21 Apr

**To anyone who hasn’t seen Tangled… PLEASE WATCH IT. It’s actually one of my favorite Disney movies ever, and that’s saying something coming from me ;) SO CUTE. My friends loved it. I have seen it 3 times and may or may not have preordered the DVD like a month before it actually came out… But I digress.**

Today I have for you a fabulous guest post from the lovely Jenn over at The Kitchen Dish. Her blog is filled with amazing recipes and she is such a sweetheart! I’m so excited to give you this awesome cake recipe she chose to share with me. :) If anybody else is interested in doing guest posts, I’m looking at doing 1-2 per week as my life is rather hectic… Just shoot me an e-mail! :)

Please, go pre-heat your oven and get your mixer ready. It is time to make some cake!

You all may be surprised to find out that I have never had or made “Better than (You know what) Cake” (hey, I’m trying to keep this G Rated), but as I have looked up recipes for it, it seems like there are many versions of it. This may be a version of it, but since it came from our church cookbook, it is “Knock Your Socks Off Cake.” I don’t know that you need to be concerned about your socks, but perhaps your jeans. I have ZERO willpower around this stuff, and well, let’s just say I wear sweatpants as a result. I hope you enjoy it!
IMG_1644

IMG_1618

The Starters:

  • German Chocolate Cake Mix (including ingredients to prepare cake mix as directed on box)
  • Cream cheese
  • Eggs
  • Vanilla extract
  • Sugar
  • Chocolate chips
  • Instant vanilla pudding
  • Milk
  • Cool Whip

IMG_1622

Prepare the cake mix according to package directions.

IMG_1624

I could lick those beaters! Nicole’s addendum: I probably would ;)

IMG_1625

Pour into a greased 9×13 pan. You can also use two 8×8″ pans, as I did; set aside.

Now…for the CREAM CHEESE layer!

IMG_1626

Add softened cream cheese to a mixing bowl.

IMG_1627

IMG_1628

Add eggs, sugar and vanilla.

IMG_1630

Mix with hand mixer until smooth.

Mix with hand mixer until smooth.

IMG_1632
Pour evenly over German Chocolate Cake batter.

IMG_1633
I like to start around the edges and work my way in…

IMG_1634
….and then back out again. I think this is an easy way to get an even coating of the cream cheese mixture.

The final step before we pop this pan of deliciousness in the oven? Chocolate chips! Flour the chocolate chips with either regular flour, or you can reserve some of the dry cake batter to use for this.

IMG_1637
Sprinkle chocolate chips over top of the cream cheese layer; yes, there will be a lot of chocolate chips, but trust me, you’ll be glad there is!

IMG_1643
Bake for 40-50 minutes, and then remove from the oven and cool. You can see the chocolate chips and cream cheese have sunk to the bottom of the cake. So delicious!

Now, for the Frosting!

IMG_1646

IMG_1647
Combine pudding mix and milk and beat slowly for a minute.

IMG_1648

IMG_1650
Fold in vanilla…

IMG_1651
And Cool Whip.

IMG_1652

IMG_1653

Spread on cooled cake and refrigerate.
IMG_1654

IMG_1657

YUM!!
IMG_1658

Knock Your Socks Off Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 box German Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ C. sugar
  • 2 C. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 sm. Pkg. instant vanilla pudding
  • 1 C. cold milk
  • 1 (8 oz.) carton Cool Whip
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

  1. Assemble cake mix according to directions on box.
  2. Pour into a 9×13-inch pan and set aside.
  3. Mix cream cheese, eggs, vanilla and sugar until smooth. Spread on top of cake.
  4. Sprinkle chocolate chips over top of cream cheese mixture.
  5. Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven for 40 to 50 minutes. Cool

ICING:

  1. Combine the pudding mix and milk in a small bowl. Beat slowly for about 1 minute.
  2. Fold in Cool whip and vanilla.

Spread on cake and refrigerate.


17 Responses to “guest post: Knock Your Socks Off Cake!”

  1. runyogarepeat April 21, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Wowzas, this looks good! Anything with a layer of chocolate chips is good in my mind.

  2. Kimberley April 21, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    AHH, I was sort of drooling alllll the way down the page :) YUM!

  3. keepnthefaith April 21, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Holy yum this looks incredible! So bookmarking this one!

  4. Jess April 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    This looks so incredible!!

  5. The Teenage Taste April 21, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    That looks so good! I love the pudding frosting – so easy and so delicious! Thanks for posting the recipe, Jenn! :]

    • Jenn April 24, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks! The pudding frosting is so good….I could (have) eaten it by the bowlful!

  6. Sarah @ goingongoals April 21, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    AMAZING!!! Can’t wait to try it!! And I completely agree Tangled is amazing too

    • Jenn April 24, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      I hope you do try it!

  7. Alexa @ SimpleEats April 21, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    This looks AMAZING! I definitely want a slice of this!

  8. Ellie April 21, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    omgshhhhhhh sooooooo yummy!! yup, cake batter is zee beshhttt :D great recipe! I guess I’d make an exception to buy the mix b/c I usually don’t use the pre-mix. this looks that good hehe

  9. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 21, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Looks absolutely divine! And YES Tangled was so so cute!

  10. movesnmunchies April 22, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    AHH This looks amazing!!

  11. Jenny April 22, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Wowww this would definitely knock my socks off and I’m not even wearing socks :o

  12. MegSmith @ Cooking.In.College April 22, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING. Definitely knocked my socks off just thinking about it :-)

    I would be so honored to do a guest post on your blog, the next three weeks are a little hectic for me though (finals) so let me get back to you when I feel like my head isn’t going to explode. Thank you so much for the offer! Talk to you soon.

  13. GingerandRice April 22, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Oh.My. This reminds me of my mom’s sherry cake. Soooo tasty…

  14. Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life April 22, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    This looks awwwwwwwesome! Thanks for sharing!! :)

    • Jenn April 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      You’re welcome! I hope you try and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

