polka dot dreams [more chocolate chip cookies]

23 Apr

**Firstly**: I am a MORON and forgot to link to Jenn’s amazing site, so if you enjoyed the cake she posted for me please check it out! :)

I’m not going to beat around the bush: Yesterday sucked. I can’t really pinpoint what it was, but I was in a funk all day, despite the fact that I had no school (Jesuit education, what whaaat). Today has been a little low-key but better. But when I went to choose a recipe to share today, I decided to pick something that always makes me happy: polka dots.

And cookies. Polka dots in cookies?

My psych research group had to have a meeting and chose to center it around pizza… in typical fashion, I brought some cookies. I had requests for “M&M cookies” and “underbaked” cookies so I went with a nice, chewy chocolate-chip cookie and underbaked them a little bit extra.

It’s actually a recipe I’ve made before, but this time I’m going to actually type out the recipe. It’s a nice, simple recipe with a boatload of vanilla that I think really enhances the flavor. It’s also fabulously easy to make without a hand mixer since the butter is melted and there’s no creaming involved (though that is a nice workout…). This means I can whip it up in my dorm room in no time flat.

I’d imagine that this would lend itself well to holiday-themed M&Ms, like Easter M&Ms, perhaps? Or you can make it with plain old chocolate chips and it will still be delicious.

This recipe has actually made its way around the blogosphere many times. I mean, it’s basically famous: “BEST Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.” While I’m not 100% sure it’s my absolute favorite (I rather liked some of the dark-chocolate+ sea-salt variations I’ve tried) it’s definitely one I’ll make again as an easy, reliable recipe.

And there’s nothing that can put a smile on my face quite like ridiculously colorful cookies….

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate-Chip POLKA DOT Cookies
From Allrecipes
Makes 3 dozen if you’re me and you make smallish cookies, 1.5 dozen if you’re Allrecipes

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 5?-oz bag M&Ms, + 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or 2 cups chocolate chips)
In a microwave-safe bowl, melt butter in 10-15 second increments, mixing well between each until fully melted. Stir in sugar and vanilla until well mixed. Add egg and egg yolk and mix until creamy. In a separate bowl, sift together dry ingredients, then add them to the wet ingredients and mix until combined. Fold in M&M’s and chocolate chips, then refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (not strictly necessary, but I like to do it).
Preheat oven to ***325*** degrees (not 350!) and lightly grease a cookie sheet. Place tablespoon-sized balls of dough 2 inches apart on cookie sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes or until edges are just slightly brown (time will depend a lot on the size of your cookies!) Let cool for a minute or two before removing to cooling rack/plate.
Share with your favorite partners in crime and bask in the colorful sugariness when the world feels a little dreary.
What cheers you up when you’re in a funk?
13 Responses to “polka dot dreams [more chocolate chip cookies]”

  1. Anthony April 23, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Very clever of you to photograph your cookies on a polka dot background :)

  2. keepnthefaith April 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the funk dear, I was in one myself today. I think cookies are a great way to get out of a funk though!! Especially ones with m&ms!!

  3. katshealthcorner April 23, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    :) I love that you called those POCKA DOTS!!! :D It makes them so FANCY!!! :D

  4. Mandi April 23, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Ooh yum! I’ve made those cookies before, they’re delicious. I love the addition of the m&m’s too- they’re so colorful! :)

  5. Sara April 23, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Magazines, lattes and flowers! the ones from Pikes are soooo beautiful right now!

  6. Tara April 23, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I love rainbow cookies! Underbaked must be even more heavenly. I like to run or bake when I’m in a funk. Usually that gets me out of it, but sometimes a good night of sleep is the only way out

  7. hippierunner April 23, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    A good workout gets me out of a funk, as does some baking. Working with dough can be therapeutic. :)

  8. movesnmunchies April 24, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    THESE ARE SO CUTE!!!! def put a smile on my face!! THE SUN makes me smile!!

  9. Kimberley April 24, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    cookies and chocolate definitly cheer me up!
    PS they are so easter-y! :)

  10. Ma Ma Megan April 24, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I was eating a cookie just after lunch, and there was a side of carrots on my plate!
    Made me think of you ;)

  11. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 24, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I’m so sorry to here yesterday (or I guess two days ago by now) wasn’t a good day for you :( But cookies are definitely the best way to cheer up! Especially when they’re as delicious looking as the ones you made! :D
    I love how you always post about cookies! It’s so cute! :) You NEED to write a cookie cookbook! I promise I would be the first to buy a copy! :) :)

    Much love <3

  12. Jenny April 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Yummy! Nothing like m&m’s to make a cookie better :D

  13. Heather @ kissmybroccoli April 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Aww, I totally baked some cookies today and thought of you!

    Most of the time, a really good workout/run will get me out of a funk…or sometimes, just a little quiet time to myself. And baking is always good for the soul too, right? :)

Leave a Reply

