bunny-eats.

24 Apr

Or: Resurrecting an old favorite (ha, pun, for Easter, resurrecting, get it?! I’m so clever).

Happy Easter/Sunday/Excuse-to-eat-lots-of-chocolate-day everybody! :) I hope you’re getting to enjoy this lovely day with family, friends, or fuzzy bunnies & massive chocolate eggs.

Yep, I totally broke out the massive egg today.

I didn’t eat it all… the bunny helped, I swear (as did a few of my friends). I traded him for some of his carrots. ;)

The interior was lined with a kind of hardened cashew-nougat-type thing, just like the bon-bons the whole egg is based on (Sonho de Valsa).

They’re a typical Brazilian candy and they’re kind of delicious, you should try them if you should ever stumble upon any! :)


In honor of this lovely Sunday, I’m bringing you retouched photos of an old, bunny-friendly recipe: my Carrot Cake Pancakes.

Funny how learning to mess with really simple stuff in iPhoto vastly improves the quality of the pictures…

And I also greatly prefer having the bigger pictures in the post. Kind of amusing to read reaaaally old blog posts from last summer before I *really* got started blogging.

Click here for my embarrassing early post, and the recipe. :)
What have you been doing with your day? I’ve just been doing homework, sadly… And coveting carrot-cake pancakes. ;) I may go buy some carrots instead… you know how I do. :)
24 Responses to “bunny-eats.”

  1. The Teenage Taste April 24, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    That’s the first post I read when I came across your blog. Those pancakes are the BOMB.com! :]

  2. hippierunner April 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    At least you had the bunny and that huge egg to keep you and your homework company! :) I have had a lazy day, went to Trader Joe’s and then Target but Target was closed, which is weird since they seem to be open every other holiday!

  3. Jenny April 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Holy chocolate egg :o That looks delicious!! I had a cadbury one for the first time and was amazed by how awesome and delicious it was. Happy Easter! :D

  4. Vivianne April 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    I’ve been doing so much studying :( I’m still in the middle of finals and I barely got to see my family today! So sad.

    I also started moving stuff out of my dorm room. It’s so strange because I swear I just moved in a few weeks ago, not 8 months ago…

  5. Kimberley April 24, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Hmmm… that chocolate egg looks delicious, I have never seen one like that before!

  6. Briana April 24, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Your photographs are excellent!

  7. Jess April 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Holy chocolate heaven!!

    HAPPY EASTER!

  8. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Happy Easter Nicole!!!! Share some egg! I didn’t get one today! I did get brunch though! yay! <3

  9. Audrey Ellen @ My Scene and Herd April 24, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Great pictures, and as a new blogger I can totally attest to the ‘messing around on iphoto for hours’ phase. Looks like your pictures are coming out really nicely!

  10. Heather @ kissmybroccoli April 24, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I totally re-posted my carrot cake pancakes today too, but I took different pics since I was actually patient enough to make coconut BUTTER instead of the coconut “clumps” I got last time! Haha!

    And for real! Isn’t iPhoto amazing?! I swear sometimes it takes me forever to edit my photos because I can’t stop making little tweaks!

    That chocolatey nougaty egg looks out of this world delicious! Mmmm! Hope you had a great Easter my friend!

    <3 Heather

  11. runyogarepeat April 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Yum, that chocolate-cashew egg sounds really good!

  12. keepnthefaith April 24, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Wow that egg looks amazing!!! Super jealous :) I didn’t eat any candy yet actually!!

  13. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Haha, I love the resurrection joke :)

    Those eggs look amazing. I have a serious chocolate craving!!

  14. Ellie April 24, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    that reminds me of the bonbones in Argentina! *hug* hehe. I know, it feels so odd looking back at old stuff!

  15. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 25, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    Ah, so jealous of your chocolate egg! ;) And your stuffed bunny is SO cute! I have one just like that only it’s white :)

    I love your carrot cake pancakes! Definitely a tried and true recipe!

    *HUGS* to you on Easter (and any day!) I hope you had the amazing Easter that you deserve!

    <3 <3 <3

  16. Ma Ma Megan April 25, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    Aw, I love all the cute easter-y stuff :D

  17. movesnmunchies April 25, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    HOLY MONKEYBALLS I WANT THAT CHOCOLATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! bah that looks so good.. and i wna cuddle that bunny!

  18. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate April 25, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Those pancakes look EXCELLENT.

  19. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 25, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    That chocolate egg looks amazing! And I’m a sucker for puns haha!

  20. theflourishingfoodie April 25, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    :) I love the puns! Mmmm chocolate eggs!
    Love the pancakes photos.

  21. Natalie @ will jog for food April 25, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    I want that candy!!! It looks SO good :)

  22. pawsitivelife April 25, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I have never in my life seen nugat like easter eggs. Looks soo good. Must go to brazil now..Darn! :)

  23. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 25, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    That chocolate egg looks delish! And those pancakes…wow!

  24. Rach @ This Italian Family April 27, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Aww happy (very belated) Easter, Nicole! So many cute shots in this post. :) And your pancakes look yummy!

Leave a Reply

