monday miscellany.

25 Apr

I need to get over my addiction to alliteration. Not that it’s likely to happen…

When school gets rough, I like to hit the bars. (I should also stop with my bad jokes, but that’s okay). And by bars, I mean granola bars, because I have no time to make fun snacks when I have two midterms and a presentation to work on…

So, without further ado/Sudafed-addled babbling (yes, I’m sick too! Joy), some reviews I’ve been holding up on for awhile.

1) Oskri Almond-Cranberry Protein Bar

This came in that fabulous package from my mom and was the first thing I tore into before my test. Oh my gosh. So good.

Not too sweet (though I could do with even less sweetness, but it’s not at all cloying) and with just the right amount of crunch from almonds and grains. Made with whole ingredients, and only 200 calories/pop (not GREAT but not half bad… 10 grams of all-natural protein too!)

2) A million Gnu Bars

I love Gnu bars… They’re sweet and chewy, albeit highly fibery (so people without a health-food-tooth like me might be slightly averse at first) and pack 13 grams of fiber into each little bar with only 130-140 calories, plus they’re fruit-juice sweetened!

 I was sent these almost two months ago, and kept putting off eating the second of any given flavor so that I could take pictures of the innards… well, that didn’t happen. So you’ll have to deal with the outside packaging. To be honest they all look fairly similar…

a. Not pictured: Banana Walnut

I actually bought a box of these independently, before receiving the products for review… and they were awesome. Banana-y but not in a fake way, and of course filled with fiber. I definitely would buy this flavor again, it’s kind of like a healthified, easy banana bread bar!

b. Lemon Ginger

I had heard good things about this flavor and while it was definitely a somewhat different and new combination for me, it was good. It wasn’t quite as “comforting” tasting as the banana or some of the chocolate ones, but the little kick from the ginger livened it up and balanced it out nicely.

c. Peanut Butter Bar

I had high hopes for this one… I LOVE peanut butter. Unfortunately it didn’t really taste like peanut butter to me… It tasted pretty fake. I probably wouldn’t purchase this flavor again.

d. Espresso Chip

I heard some people say they didn’t like this flavor so I didn’t exactly have high hopes, but I rather liked it! I didn’t think it was substantially different than the chocolate one, though the coffee kind of added a little bit of depth. But I just love anything with coffee, so I’m fairly easy to please.

e. Brownie (Not pictured… Oops)

Um, chocolate + fiber = love. Again, this is still really fibrous, but it’s a great snack or a guilt-free dessert. Particularly good slathered with some peanut butter (or peanut flour paste). But then again, what isn’t? Now I’m thinking I should’ve microwaved one and maybe even put ice cream on top… Maybe I’ll just have to buy more! ;)

f. Cinnamon Raisin Bar

They actually sell these at my school, so I eat them somewhat regularly. I like ’em. I probably prefer the chocolatey ones, but still. The raisins are plump and add just enough moisture… I might even like MORE cinnamon but that’s probably just me. A pretty good choice if some of the crazier flavors are freaking you out (and the cinnamon-raisin lends itself well to the fibery texture, since it kind of has a “healthy” connotation anyways).

g. Cranberry Orange

I actually like these, though apparently a lot of people think they taste a little fake. They also sell these at my school. While I will say they’re not quite as pungent and real-tasting as their Pure Bar counterpart, they are lower in calories and easier for me to obtain so I still eat them regularly. And a little of that citrussy taste always brightens up my day. :)

3. A non-review… but a discovery!

Um, the crazy-awesome people over at The ProBar have created heaven in a package: HALO BARS.

I have yet to try one but I’m absolutely dying do. Just listen to the description of the “s’mores” flavor: Outdoor enthusiasts at their core, S’mores are most content when they are actively exploring nature with friends and family. S’mores can really take the heat and work extremely well under pressure. Despite their hard exterior, they are almost always soft and gooey on the inside making them great life long companions to most any flavor.

I am SO all over anything vaguely marshmallow-flavored (they also have Rocky Road! and Nutty Marshmallow! I wouldn’t even know how to pick…) that’s good for me. And we’re all in luck because if you go to their shop and place an order, and write “BLOGGER” in the box at the checkout, you can get 40% off your first order! I REALLY want to try these. Really.

Okay, that’s enough babbling. I’m getting delirious and dreaming of s’mores…

What’s your favorite granola bar, and why? Do you eat granola-bar-type-things regularly? What’s your favorite Gnu bar, if you’ve tried one? What do you eat when you’re super-busy?

22 Responses to “monday miscellany.”

  1. hippierunner April 25, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I love your jokes! Keep them up! I just laughed really loud to the “i hit the bars” line. :) My go-to bars are Clif but that’s probably only because they can be found easily like @ TJ’s or Target. They’re not the best though, some of the flavors are a little too sweet for me.

  2. Tara April 26, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    I just tried the lemon ginger bar and I loved it! I also like the cinnamon raisin and the cranberry orange, but I’m not a big fan of the chocolate flavors. The Halo bar flavors sound soooo good! I personally want to try all of them, but honey graham really appeals to me.

  3. movesnmunchies April 26, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    GNU BARS ROCK!! my favs …. laras and Pure! TOO BAD they are BOTH in the US.. oh Nakd bars here are aiight! oh and 9 bars!

  4. Jess@HealthyExposures April 26, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    I love hitting the bars when I’m busy, too ;) Gnu Bars are among my favorite! I love the texture and all the flavors. Weell, I did find the PB a little disappointing too, though. I also enjoyed some of the Macrobars I’ve tried, and you can never go wrong with a Larabar ;)
    Good luck on exams!! Feel better soon!!

  5. Stefanie April 26, 2011 at 4:54 am #

    I like Odwalla bars. I have been looking at the Gnu bars though. Maybe i’ll pick one up. Those Halo bars sound really good.

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 26, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    I’m big on granola bars especially b/c I’m at an office for 8+ hours a day! I love the Kashi TLC bars. I’m definitely going to start looking for the ones you listed here!

  7. BrittFit April 26, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    omg I love this post…I LOVE BARS!!!!! lemon ginger looks amazing

  8. Jenny April 26, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I’ve never seen those Gnu bars before but they seem pretty tasty. I like those Kashi bars, especially the Honey flavored one and I love Luna Bars. Cookies and Cream is my ultimate favorite flavor :D

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots April 26, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      I realized I probably made this sound like more of a comprehensive list of my fave bars than I wanted it to, because Kashi TLCs are DEFINITELY my staple bar :) I just love trying new things when I can! the Honey almond flax is def my fave :)

  9. katshealthcorner April 26, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Y-U-M!!!!!! These sound DELICIOUS! :D I love how much fiber they have! YAY for fiber! :D

  10. kat April 26, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Jealous!!! I love the ease and simplicity of granola bars. Such a quick snack or breakfast along with a smoothie. I make mine at home a lot, but packaged ones are easier to carry around!!

  11. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) April 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    All of those flavors sound delicious, but I’m especially intrigued by the lemon ginger flavor. What an interesting and delicious combination!

  12. fashionfitnessfoodie April 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    UM i want that halo bar too??? How did you find this!

  13. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 26, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    I need to hit some bars =) BOTH kinds of bars actually! yup yup yup. wine time!

  14. The Teenage Taste April 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Nice product reviews, Nicole! I was able to review the GNU bars a few months ago and it was half-and-half for me. The Banana Bread was, by far, my favorite! :-D
    Good luck on your tests!

  15. Jess April 26, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    I really want to try gnu bars!! YUM!!

  16. Katie April 26, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I need that halo s’mores bar in my life!! Looks man good! Thanks for the compliments on my new blog love!

  17. Gillian April 26, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Gnu bars are pure delight! Banana Walnut is my favorite.
    Those halo bars sound amazing, I’ll have to try to find some around Berkeley

  18. Allison @ PickyEatingRD April 26, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I used to be big on bars but not so much anymore. If I have a bar it is usually a Lara bar but I do love Gnu as well!

  19. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 27, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    I get stuck on bars when school gets busy too! My cupboard has like seven different kinds! (Of course, that’s no where near the number of nutbutter jars I have ;)
    I love gnu bars too! And smores flavored granola bar?!? YUM!!!
    Great look to you on your tests!! I know you will do absolutely amazing!! :D

    <3 <3

  20. Rach @ This Italian Family April 27, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    There aren’t many snack bars I can have because of the sugar content. But I really love the think thin brownie crunch bars… YUM!

  21. pawsitivelife April 27, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I dont really get filled up on granola bars, I would have one to tie me over but then I would still need to eat. While I love the uber healthy bars such as Luna they are too pricy for a girl on a budget so i stick with the old favourite fiber one

Leave a Reply

