WIAW: a weary wednesday [with banana-chia-pudding!]

27 Apr

So… I got about 3 hours of sleep. I couldn’t fall asleep because I was too busy humming in my brain about a variety of drugs (only one of which I was consuming… thank you caffeine… not gonna tell you the mechanism coz the test is over now!).

But here’s my rather tired little post because I cannot resist doing WIAW. :)

Breakfast

Banana-Chia-Pudding

1/2 banana, mashed
3/4 cup almond milk
2-3 tablespoons chia seeds
sweetener to taste
cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and stir well then put in fridge, covered or uncovered. Wake up and devour in the morning, with a spoonful of peanut butter on the side. ;)

Lunch

I’ve been feeling a little sick so I had Coconut Lentil Soup from the cafeteria… which means I didn’t photograph it. But it was delicious!

Dinner

More soup… I bought this at our cellar market. I didn’t like it at first but it definitely grew on me. But I prefer soup with actual bits to bite, and this was just “broth” (though a thick broth!). I did add some frozen veggies + nooch.

And I definitley forgot to take a picture of it in the bowl! Oops.

And some of these crackers. They’re kind of super addicting (and not bad nutritionally, it’s got a decent amount of protein and fiber and not a whole lot of ingredients!). I also snacked on these with some hummus in addition to other snacks. :)

Weather

Upper 60s and sunny! I broke the shorts out.

I definitely didnt want to post this picture because I’m feeling exceptionally self-conscious about my body and showing it, since I’m pretty sure I gained some weight… Confidence is kind of shot recently. But I’m posting it in an effort to just accept the way my body looks.  And on that note, the wisdom!

Angela over at Oh She Glows wrote an absolutely beautiful post about learning to accept your body and yourself just the way you are and learning to love it. I would comment on it but I think she about covered it… Definitely something I need to work on… Click here. Seriously. Read it.

And this is my tired-face… please excuse my unkempt appearance!

Hopefully I’ll be back tomorrow with a few more words and a few more brain cells that are actually awake. ;)

Any tips for self-confidence/body acceptance? Tell me your tips for self-confidence. I’m kind of hitting a slump.

On a lighter note… Do you function without sleep? Because I clearly don’t. At all. It’s kind of humorous actually…

27 Responses to “WIAW: a weary wednesday [with banana-chia-pudding!]”

  1. Jenny April 27, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    I’m awful at anything without a decent amount of sleep, I can’t focus on anything. Loving your WIAW eats, that banana chia pudding looks really yummy.
    And why the heck are you feeling self conscious about your body you look spectacular! You are rocking in those daisy dukes girl. We all fall into that slump sometimes and I might like write a little sticky that says “I am beautiful” and post it on my mirror. I know it’s silly but it helps :) Hope you did great on that test!

  2. cinnamonalicious April 27, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Oh my gosh girl you are beautiful!! you have absolutely NOTHING to be self-conscious about AT ALL!!
    Angela’s posts are always so inspirational! I understand totally about the self-confidence thing though..everyone has their ups and downs.. hopefully you’ll feel a million dollars in the morning after plenty of rest! <3

  3. Kimberley April 27, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Girl– you seriously look amazing for lack of sleep, I would literally look ten times worse! And, I am so proud of you for posting the picture when you have low self confidence because I know how hard that must of been! I have been feeling the same way lately and it is so hard not too, I wish I had some tips or advice to give you but you are doing so good girl! Get some sleep and hope for a spectacular day tomorrow — your beautiful and worth it :) remember that!

  4. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) April 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Your are absolutely gorgeous girl!! You have nothing to be self-conscious about – I promise!!
    I used to be very self-conscious, but I’ve learned to love and accept who I am :) I feel great inside and have decided that that’s what really matters.
    I love your Wednesday eats! :D I really want to do a WIAW!! And thank you so much for your incredibly sweet comments (as usual) on my past few birthday posts! They mean so much to me! :)
    Always remember – you are beautiful. Because, you really are!

    *HUGS*
    <3

  5. Emilia April 27, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Aw, Nicole- you’re beautiful at any size girl. And gained some weight? Where, I don’t see it anywhere ;) Just know you’re awesome and one lovely girl, and nothing needs to change!
    I hear you- i’m running on little to no sleep currently and it will stay like that till the semester ends!

  6. Tara April 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    So I saw that picture and I thought “Nicole looks so good!” and then I saw that you were feeling self conscious. I’m baffled. You look so pretty and are just fine the way you are! When I’m feeling down I look at pictures of myself when I’m really happy. That gives me an instant boost and reminds me just how amazing I am!

  7. runyogarepeat April 27, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    You’re beautiful girlie! Everyone goes through phases of feeling self-conscious, it’s a journey for full acceptance. I agree, Angela’s post was incredible!

  8. oatsandspice April 27, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I bought that soup at Costco and was not a fan… maybe it will still grow on me too? Hopefully because I have like 8 boxes haha.

    But I hope you can get some more sleep tonight! :)

  9. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    your tired face is still beautiful! =) and that top ROCKS on you girl!

    Happy WIAW nicole 1 (i suppose I could be nicole 2 since its my middle name =) hehe. either way- love youuuu!)

  10. Jess@HealthyExposures April 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    You are beautiful inside and out – you have nothing to be worried about!! Self-confidence is a long journey, but don’t those days where we feel on top of the world feel wonderful? Just something to remember and keep in mind ;)

  11. fashionfitnessfoodie April 27, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Oh geeze you probably think I am a fat cow then!! You look great :) Don’t beat yourself up!

    Try making your banana chia pudding with frozen banana slices on the bottom. SOOO GOOD!

  12. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey April 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Everyone has told you this already, but you look amazing! It makes me sad that you don’t see it, but believe me, I understand. I’m very self-conscious myself, and I think it was really awesome that you posted a picture of yourself when you were feeling unsure. You rock. :)

    I need to get into this WIAW thing… I just never take enough pics of my food! haha.

  13. katshealthcorner April 27, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Girl, you are absoultey GORGEOUS!!! You are so special and beautiful!

  14. kat April 27, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Oh self confidence. I wish I had some so that I could give it to you, but I haven’t had any in a long time. When it comes to lacking confidence, I’m pretty much #1. I could go on and on, but I’m supposed to cheer you up so here it goes. You ARE gorgeous. I know what you think you see, but its your mind playing tricks girl. Your beautiful and perfect how God created you! I’d switch bodies with you in a heartbeat, your one hot mama. Don’t let days like this get you down. Go pump some iron and remember how STRONG you are. Go run a few miles and remember how RESILIENT you are. Just don’t give in. Always keep fighting. Cause I promise girl, I’m fighting for you too.

  15. hippierunner April 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Nicole, you are absolutely gorgeous! I hope you see that, maybe once you get some proper sleep, it’ll be more clear? :)

    The pudding recipe looks awesome and simple, definitely going to use it next time I need a quick dessert.

  16. movesnmunchies April 28, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    i used to HATE MYSELf… idk how i learned to love me.. but i thin i just dropped all expectations and goals.. just realized this is ME!..i wuv your breakki!!

  17. daniella@runneratheart April 28, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    You look amazing and I love that shirt. That breakfast sounds and looks intersting I will have to try it.

  18. Alexa @ Simple Eats April 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    THAT’S your tired face?! I’m jealous…you are freakin’ gorgeous. Regardless, it’s awesome that you mustered up the courage to post that picture :)

  19. megpinkgiggles April 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Self confidence tips? You are gorgeous girl! Never forget how amazing you are. You are smart and pretty and funny :)

  20. Ricki April 29, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    By the look of your arms i’d guess you were underweight….if anything id suggest gaining some MORE weight. Not trying to be rude or anything but you thinking youre getting heavy makes me feel like then I must be a whale.

  21. Jess April 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    I definitely feel you on the learning to accept our bodies- constant struggle for me, but people like Angela are an inspiration!

  22. pawsitivelife April 29, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    You look gorgeous! I think accepting yourself is a life long battle. I have come a long way. Now I pretty much think that I am an all star but it was not always that way

  23. Jess April 30, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    That banana chia pudding looks really good!!

  24. Vivianne April 30, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Keep your head up Nicole, you are beautiful, inside and out. We all get in our ruts sometimes. I know sometimes I look in the mirror and feel so down… so I step away from the mirror. That’s one thing that helps me. If I’m feeling really down about myself, I step away from the mirror for a little bit, read some blogs, and take care of me.
    Sleep is so important!! I get noticeably more sad when I’m tired.

    Get some sleep sweetie! Hope for a better tomorrow, and please accept all of the wonderful comments you have received. It’s so easy to brush them off, but everyone is speaking the truth!

  25. Erica D April 30, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I’m in the last month of my college semester, where it is tradition to go out more nights than usual, so I’m thriving on little sleep during the night and a long nap during the day! It’s working. Kind of.

  26. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I think you look great, girl! Don’t get down on yourself!

  27. kissmybroccoli May 1, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Girl, knock those self-consious thoughts out of your mind! You look fabulous, I swear! That green top is definitely your color too! I know we all have our moments when we just don’t feel “it”, but believe me…you’ve got “it” even if you don’t feel like it! :)

    Whenever I’m having a hard time with body issues, I pump up the water consumption (that always makes me feel more energized and fresh) and I try to concentrate on the parts of my body that I CAN appreciate. Sleep helps too…you’re always more down on yourself when your cranky/crabby!

    Love ya! And I hope you get to feeling better soon! And get some sleep punkin!

Leave a Reply

