summery sunday summary

1 May

Oh, hi… Remember me? I have been ridiculously overwhelmed with, well, life, so I had literally no time to post. Or really sleep. It’s okay though, I think I slept a solid 12 hours last night so hopefully that will help ;)

In stark contrast to my semi-downer last post (you guys are the best, by the way), I’m going to try to focus on the positive and bring back a different version of “three-good-things thursday” mashed together with “seven-things sunday” a la Jenny (who also share my love for alliteration… heehee). See also my guest post on her site! :) I was so excited.

1. The sun. 

I don’t know if it’s an evolutionary handicap because of my Brazilian blood, but I honestly fail at tolerating cloudy weather. Even one day puts me into a bit of a funk; while I can still be a little down in the sunlight, it’s definitely much harder. So seeing that lovely weather forecast for this week is a definite plus.

2. Impromptu foodie photography. 

My school did a “chef expo” thing with a few local schools where their head chefs came in and they each made a signature dish… I happened upon a friend of mine who was supposed to be filming it, whipped out my camera, and ended up taking pictures off and on for two hours.

May not have helped me for my chemistry test but oh well.

The one vegetarian dish… risotto timable with beets. SUPER good. :)

3. Radiant roses.

My school has some seriously gorgeous rose bushes and gardens (let’s not think about what percentage of my tuition is funneled into those flowers…).

I was in a bit of a rush (when am I not?) but I managed to “stop to smell the roses”… and photograph them. ;)

The door to the gardens…


Seriously sunny. Try not to let that make you smile, I dare you.

4. Magnificent mail.

I had ridiculously good luck a couple weeks ago and won TWO giveaways! Kat’s and Ashley’s. So on my busiest day last week I stopped into the mail room to find…

Ashley’s chia seeds will definitely come in handy for the many different breakfasts I make featuring the lovely little guys.

and Kat’s prize package was amazing!!!

Particularly that nut butter. SO. GOOD. And the bag was so cute, as was the card, and basically everything about it was wonderful. :) I didn’t photograph the Luna bars and chocolate bars (both of which may or may not be gone… whoops).

5. Psych conference.

Okay, so running on 4 hours of sleep to wake up at 6 and go to Berkeley wasn’t the most fun I’ve ever had in and of itself, but I kind of adore my research team and the conference was fun, if exhausting. Plus things didn’t go as horribly awry as last time… Less of an adventure, but also less stressful ;)

I didn’t really take many pictures though… but I definitely learned a lot from the speakers. See also #6. ;)

6. Terrific t-shirts. 

Yep. We all bought matching t-shirts at the conference. They have neurons on them. You know you’re jealous.

7. Relay for life.

I wanted to spend a little more time at Relay this year but seeing as it was over this ridiculously busy little weekend of mine I was only there for about an hour. I may post about my “reason” for doing Relay tomorrow… And again, I didn’t take pictures. I don’t know what’s gotten into me! (Probably just exhaustion).

About the food…

There’s unfortunately been incredibly little to report on the food front… I’ve been eating the usual (pretty sure I ate my weight in ‘free’ fruit at the conference yesterday… ooops) and not really making much of anything in part because someone borrowed my “cookie sheet” and has yet to give it back (I think she lost it and she’s kind of avoiding the topic which is incredibly frustrating :( ). So we’ll see how that turns out.

Update me on your life! I’m horrendously behind in… well, everything. 5 more weeks of school!

21 Responses to “summery sunday summary”

  1. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds May 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    This entire post just makes me jealous. Sunshine + Free Chia Seeds! Lets be friendssssssss.

  2. Jenny May 1, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    so YOU’RE the little nugget who won that chia seed giveaway. hmphhh.. I would be bitter if it were anyone else, but since you’re essentially my twinsie I suppose I’ll get over it.

    Happy STS!! <3

  3. Jess May 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I just got myself some chia seeds!! I’m excited to see how you use them :D

  4. Jenny May 1, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Congrats on winning two giveaways, lucky!!! :D
    How awesome that your school did a food expo, I wish mine had that!

  5. fashionfitnessfoodie May 1, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Those packages are a nice thing to come across!!

    Um, how does someone LOSE a cookie sheet!?

  6. Tara May 1, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    So jealous of those packages! Especially the nut butter. The Chef Expo sounds so fun too! I love taking pretty pictures of food, but I love tasting it even more. Not to mention the sunshine you’re having! I think it sounds like you had an awesome weekend, even if it didn’t help you study for chem.

  7. Katie May 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    U go girl with the giveaway wins! Love the beautiful pics of roses! I love roses!

  8. katshealthcorner May 1, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    YUM!!! I LOVE NUTBUTTAH!! :D

    Those roses are GORGEOUS!! I LOVE THEM!

  9. kissmybroccoli May 1, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Well look at you lucky ducky! Congrats on winning TWO giveaways!

    The chef expo sounds awesome! How cool that you got to sneak in some foodie photograpy! And that risotto looks divine!

    I am in LOVE with those roses, especially the yellow one! Wow! And I’m totally jealous of all your sunshine you’ll be getting this week…they’re calling for rain every.single.day this week AGAIN! Boo!

  10. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) May 2, 2011 at 4:45 am #

    Yay for sun!! Sun always makes me happy :D
    That chef expo looks like so much fun!! (And very delicious ;)
    You take such amazing pictures girl!! Photography is definitely one of your [many] talents!
    School is coming to an end so quickly! I guess that’s good, but it means we’ll be super busy for the next few weeks… not so fun ;)
    And congrats on all the goodies – you deserve them!

    <3 <3

  11. Ma Ma Megan May 2, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    I’m with ya on things being crazy! My whole weekend revolved around sleep and homework.
    I’m jealous of your shirt. Thats just cool!
    Sweet giveaway wins! You sure scored big time. :)

  12. Vivianne May 2, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    I am the same way with the sun; my mood is always directly correlated with the weather! (Which is bad when you are stuck in Michigan during the gloomy winter!)

    I felt so behind when I took a few days break from reading blogs.. it’s such a weird feeling! Just keep pushing through your busy time. Sometimes we just need to take a step back from everything and “woo-sah” (as my mom says) to take a break. Relax for a bit girl! You’re working hard and it’ll all pay off! (;

    Glad to hear you are a feeling a little better<3
    oh & blooming flowers=happiness

  13. kat May 2, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Glad you got the stuff darling!! More importantly I’m glad you liked it!! I know the bag is small but I figured you could use it as a bath tote or something :) I always need travel bags like that! Miss your lovely comments girl, I need internet so I can blog and hear from you!! :):)

  14. movesnmunchies May 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    LOVE the roses! UM LUCKY DUCK on ur giveaways!!! that nut butter picture has got me craving some… gotta go get some now!

  15. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 2, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I love winning giveaways! Isn’t Kat’s almond butter the best?!

  16. Kimberley May 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    hope your life calms down shortly girl :)
    lucky girl on the giveaways!!!

  17. pawsitivelife May 2, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Oooh roses. One of my favourtie things is to attend food expos, I love the little sample sizes of everything. I go around with a notepad to see what I want to try out.

  18. Peaches and Peanuts May 2, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    If I went to school with a rose garden like that, I would literally spend ALL of my time in there! They are so pretty!!

    It’s so annoying when people borrow things and then avoid giving it back…especially when they’re your friends and you don’t want to keep obnoxiously asking for it, except you really want it back!

    I hope you get it soon!!

  19. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 2, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Beautiful pictures!!!! And I love chia seeds! I just had them on my yogurt for the first time today and I’m in love!

  20. runyogarepeat May 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Your weather forecast & those roses just made me so happy! I’m kinda confused on how you could lose a cookie sheet…it just seems too big? haha, hope you get it back soon though!

  21. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Don’t worry, girl! Sometimes life gets in the way of blogging! Those roses are so so gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

