angellic.

6 May

Thanks all for the kind welcome to miss Erika! :) She’s quite fab, right?! :)

Today I have a special little review for you after receiving this lovely package in the mail:

I happened upon the Angell bar website a few months ago and was eager to test their theory that they could get anyone to like white chocolate. I’ve always been much more of a dark chocolate fan… I like how reminiscent it is of coffee, and I love the bitterness juxtaposed with the sweet. To me, white chocolate is often cloying. So I was a little cheeky and it landed me a couple of these little guys:

Firstly, the back-up story. Angell is a husband-wife operation dedicated to perfecting healthier, organic candy bars that you don’t have to feel guilty about eating. The Snow Angell has 190 calories and its ingredients list is blissfully short:

Ingredients: Organic white chocolate* (organic cane sugar *, organic whole milk, organic cocoa butter*, organic soy lecithin (an emulsifier), organic natural vanilla), organic tapioca syrup, organic oats, organic dried coconut, organic honey, organic coconut extract with other natural flavors, sea salt. *Fair Trade CertifiedTM

And as the adorable stickers they sent me say, their motto is “eat no evil.”

How did it taste though? That’s the real question, right?

Honestly, they were delicious. Just a little chewy, sweet but not disgustingly so, and filled with totally natural coconutty sweetness enrobed in just a light touch of white chocolate.

I didn’t get to try the other flavors, but their website has me practically drooling over the Dark Angell. However, the Snow Angell was quite good and I would probably buy it myself… though my affinity still lies with the dark chocolate camp.

What can I say, I’m obviously a little dark & devilish. ;)

Do you like white chocolate?

16 Responses to “angellic.”

  1. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 6, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I LOVE WHITE CHOCOLATE! I know that dark chocolate is better for you, but white is where it’s at. ;)

  2. Tara May 6, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I like just about any type of chocolate, as long as it’s good quality. I can’t stand crappy artificial chocolate that tastes like cardboard!

  3. Vivianne May 6, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I’m on your side… I’m a way bigger fan of dark chocolate (: It has also been proven to boost mood….

    I just try to avoid candy bars in general though. I usually prefer to eat baked desserts, or make something sinful (like a smoothie). (;

  4. megpinkgiggles May 6, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I’m not the biggest white chocolate fan, but that angell bar has got me drooling!

  5. Mandi May 6, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Those bars sound so good! I honestly love white chocolate, even better than dark. I know it’s not as healthy but I love the taste. :)

  6. Ellie May 6, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Yes i do like white choc but I don’t love it. It is really good when it’s in macadamia cookies though! It’s too sweet for moi-self. :P what a cute name for a bar hehe!

  7. movesnmunchies May 7, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    ooo well these little babies look divine!

  8. Ma Ma Megan May 7, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    I’ve never been a fan of white chocolate. The packaging on that bar is so cute though :P

  9. keepnthefaith May 7, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Wow that sounds great!! I actually do enjoy white chocolate. My favorite cookie is white chocolate macadamia nut :)Eating straight up I prefer dark though, it just had THAT flavor you know?!!

  10. Jenny May 7, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    I am obsessed with white chocolate more than dark chocolate. I might be in the minority here ;)

  11. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) May 7, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Those little bars look AMAZING!!! White chocolate isn’t my favorite, but I do like it from time to time (such as in an Angell bar ;)

    <3 <3

  12. Jess May 7, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    White chocolate is my favorite kind of chocolate. Those look great!

  13. The Teenage Taste May 7, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Mmmmm…I’m a sucker for dark chocolate. White chocolate? Not so much. I like White Chocolate Wonderful PB though!

  14. runyogarepeat May 7, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m a diehard fan of dark chocolate, but good white chocolate can be fantastic. I still wanna try White Chocolate Wonderful!

  15. Jess@HealthyExposures May 7, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I’m sort of a tough sell on chocolate to begin with, so I definitely prefer dark chocolate if I had to choose; but if this bar brought you over to the …uh…white side, maybe I ought to give it a go! I can imagine it being pretty good with the coconut in there.
    I actually just noticed these bars pop up at my co-op, too!

  16. Maris (In Good Taste) May 7, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    I am definitely not as big on white chocolate as I am dark or milk. BUT I wouldn’t turn it down, either! :)

Leave a Reply

