you win some, you lose some.

7 May

Somebody please explain to me how May is already 1/4 of the way over and I haven’t yet made new goals.

First let’s check out my tally from last month

1) Excess spending. Win. I did have to pay for a couple of things last month (mostly those conferences) but they were mostly necessary, and I think I only went out to eat once…

2) Diet soda. Um… This was a mixed win & loss. Sometimes I was doing really well, I think I went 2 weeks without it, but then I got all stressed out and headed back to the bottle. So I’m trying that over again.

3) Physical activity… well, I’ve been improving, but mostly just doing weights and abs because I’m still a little afraid to run/go to the gym (I have a love/hate relationship with the gym and would prefer not to be obsessive about it, not to mention my general lack of free time…).

4) Fun things. Mmm, probably leaning towards the “loss” side… I haven’t exactly been out much. I honestly thought my life would be getting less hectic but that does not really appear to be the case. This week was a little easier, though…

5) Ha, have not TOUCHED photoshop yet. See general busy-ness of life, part 4.

6) I haven’t even BEEN on the puzzle site! But that was mostly a joke. ;)

7) I think I have my summer pretty much figured out though I haven’t nailed down the logistics. It’s looking like I’ll be at home for the first few weeks, then go to Florida on a family vacation (Disneyworld here I come!) then come back to stay around here for the rest of the summer working on research & possibly taking a summer course. Oh, and enjoying the sunshine, of course. ;)

Goals for this month:

1) Quit. Diet. Soda. I’m seriously going to do it, I swear.

2) Do a week without sugar. I don’t typically eat a lot of very sugary things, but I eat a lot of things with just a bit of hidden sugar, or more “natural” sugars that I don’t totally object to, but I’d still like to try a week without.

3) Survive this quarter. I’m done on June 9th. Wish me luck. ;)

4) Get back into running ~3 miles. If you have any motivation tips do tell me!

Other wins & losses?

Loss: These “cookies”. They were gluten-free and kind of awesomely fudgy but even crumblier than my last crumbly cookies… they were made with baker’s unsweetened chocolate & peanut butter, so they were incredibly dense and kind of awesome, but I shan’t share the recipe until I’ve made them a little more… cohesive. ;)

Win/loss: I finally did laundry & packed up some of the food I’m saving for the summer (I have meal points & can buy non-perishable items to save…).

The loss here is that I hadn’t done laundry in an embarrassingly long time. It’s kind of my least favorite thing ever. (Okay, it’s actually just one of those things I put off indefinitely because I’m dreading it, but it’s always a lot less painful than I think it will be).

What’s your least favorite chore? Any May goals? 

10 Responses to “you win some, you lose some.”

  1. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds May 7, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    If you quit drinking soda…I’ll quit drinking coffee and chewing gum…you don’t wanna know how much gum I chew..

  2. missy miller May 7, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Diet soda…the evilness…I am back in its arms, too.
    Must sever ties…

  3. Tara May 7, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Running motivation: You will feel so good after you run. Even if you feel crappy before hand, it will be worth it!!
    I really need to give up diet soda too. I don’t keep it in the house, but when I go out I drink so much. I want to at least restrict it to one soda per outing!

  4. Emilia May 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Hang in there, girly– you’re doing great! Giving up sugar for a week? Now don’t go too far, hehe :)
    Hope to see you soon!

  5. Jess@HealthyExposures May 8, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    I am terrible about laundry, too. It’s not even like it’s a difficult or all that time-consuming of a chore so I have no idea why I let myself run out of every last article of clothing before doing a load of laundry. I’ll just call it being eco-friendly…yeah…
    End of the semester is just around the corner, you’ve got it in the bag! Hang in there :)
    Tara’s running motivation is great for me, too. Usually I love going when the weather is nice, and when it’s cloudy I kind of want to go but would be okay staying in, too, haha. Then I remember how once I’m doing it I do enjoy it, and after; I feel wonderful ;) If you’re just getting back into it don’t even bother taking a watch if you think it would put pressure on you to do X miles in X minutes. Now, obviously I am still far from a running pro, but those are just little things that work for me, at least!

  6. The Teenage Taste May 8, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Ugh I feel ya, Nicole. Doing laundry is the worst! Actually I don’t mind putting it in the washer, but folding it is the devil. Haha! I hate it with a passion!

    Have a great day! :]

  7. movesnmunchies May 8, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    girl u gots great goals… and the diet soda one will feel AMAZING once you kick it- trust me! i felt like a million bucks when i quit! I HATE doing dishes– EW!

  8. Vivianne May 8, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    My biggest May goals are to exercise in a fun way, and to learn how to make different dinners. I’m awful with dinner recipes!

    Good luck with giving up sugar & diet soda! YOU CAN DO IT!

    I actually don’t mind laundry at all. But I usually just put all my laundry in one load. Bad I know but it saves time! My least favorite chore is actually putting clothes away. I don’t know why but I can’t seem to get the motivation to do it!

  9. runyogarepeat May 8, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Good job reviewing your goals! I haven’t even reviewed my 2011 goals back from january…oops. Can’t wait to see the final cookie recipe for those!

  10. keepnthefaith May 8, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Girl we can work on our running together!! Haha I’d say start with the couch 2 5k program!! It really helps you build up to that 3 mile mark!! A goal for me this month is to focus on taking care of my body!! (Icing, stretching, lots of yoga!!!)

Leave a Reply

