perspective.

9 May

Here’s what I spent my weekend with:

Sensory & motor systems… yay neuropsych!

Daunting, right? I may or may not have had a few mini-meltdowns over the sheer amount of material I needed to learn. But after a little impromptu run (! More on that later), I started to think about the real take-home points.

Because regardless of whether or not I ace this test, the following things are still true:

The cone receptors in my retina will still synapse just fine and allow me to see the brilliant colors of roses in the sunshine.

 

My temporal lobe will still process some of my visual pathways and allow me to recognize the faces of those I love.

The many olfactory glomeruli in my nose will still help me smell (and taste!) delicious cookies.

Like crazy-salty-corny cookies!

My motor cortex will still send messages via the dorsal corticospinal tract to activate my leg muscles and power me through my first run in 6 months (spurred by a near anxiety-attack over aforementioned test… at least it started back up my running mojo!).

The sun will still shine, the flowers will still bloom, there will still be stars in the night sky & a million other little things that make me happy, I will still have people to love and ways to show them I care, & in the grand scheme of things, this little test doesn’t matter at all.

That’s my perspective.

How do you keep things in perspective?

21 Responses to “perspective.”

  1. Ma Ma Megan May 9, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I love your perspective. You are absolutely right :)

  2. hippierunner May 9, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Interesting to see how you process things! I keep things in perspective by thinking about how things could always be much worse, this makes me grateful for all I have… like those shoes which I have too!

  3. keepnthefaith May 9, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Wow this is awesome! I keep things in perspective by realizing how truly blessed I am. Especially with all the suffering going on in our world right now, my minor problems don’t seem so big when I put them into perspective!!

  4. runyogarepeat May 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Great perspective post! Good luck on your exams & awesome run! I always stress out over exams, but afterwards, I realize that it wasn’t worth all the stress.

  5. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 9, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good luck study bunny! summer break will be here soon! <3

  6. Alaina Rose @ Sweetness of Life May 9, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Beautiful, positive perspective! :-) I love it. You’re awesome. And that is a gorgeous rose! <3

  7. Mandi May 9, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Loving your perspective and positive outlook. :) Good luck on all that studying! And great job on the run! I always love running when stressed or anxious, it always calms me down and makes me feel 100% better.

  8. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I love your perspective! Good luck with the studying. I’m in the same boat- only two more weeks until sweet freedom!

  9. fashionfitnessfoodie May 10, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Sometimes I need to take a step back and realize the important things! I tend to dwell…

  10. Tara May 10, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    I agree! I always tell myself that there are not success stories that didn’t have failures, but if they tried their hardest, than so can I. Good luck!

  11. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 10, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    What a cool perspective!! I tend to try to focus on the small things too often, when I should really look at the big picture instead!

  12. Jenny May 10, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    ewwwwww I just finished my pysch exam and seriously – if I hear about neurotransmitters or action potentials again it’ll be too soon. good luck gorge!

  13. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 10, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Awesome perspective!

  14. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 10, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    I love your perspective. That is so nice and refreshing. Our weekends were so similar. Love me some studying!

  15. Vivianne May 10, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I really wish I could keep things in perspective like that. Going away to college this year really made me start to reach for that. I realized that all my stressing about tests and grades and gpa did nothing but put a cloud of unhappiness over my life. I achieved a lot, sure, but sometimes the cost was too high. My mental health suffered a lot this year, for what? One test that ended up being fine in the end. Sometimes I failed stuff. Sometimes it was because I was so burnt out from worrying and stress that I didn’t care anymore.

    Life really does go on. All we can do is study hard and reach for those stars that truly will always go on shining (;

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots May 10, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      Trust me, I’m not always this zen lol. I kind of write things on my blog in hopes that it will resonate with other people and that I’ll be able to internalize it better… I do still have my freakouts.

      Keep your chin up darlin’.

      <3 n

  16. movesnmunchies May 10, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    YES YES YES! ithnk everyone needs this post with all the stress goin on! you ROCK girlie!

  17. Jenny May 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I tend to let everything overwhelm me and I love your take on things. Psych and bio majors are a lot alike :)I never took neuropsych but definitely had to learn all the motor and sensory systems :(

  18. Stephanie May 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Loooove it, especially the last paragraph. So true.

  19. pawsitivelife May 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I try to keep things in perspective. I am getting better at it :). Sounds like you do a great job

  20. megan @ the oatmeal diaries May 10, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Ohh I know all about the joys of neuropsych. Haha GOOD LUCK on your test and you’re right, in the big scheme of life it is just a teensy weensy thing.

Leave a Reply

