a peanut-buttery guest post: clean eating chelsey

11 May

Thanks everyone for your super-sweet comments on my outfit yesterday… For those who asked, I got the shoes at TJ Maxx but I think they’re Steve Madden (I’m honestly too lazy to go check ;) ).

Today I have a special treat! Chelsey at Clean Eating Chelsey and I did a post-swap! Please give her a hearty welcome; she’s one of my favorite bloggers to read. Her posts are always funny, thoughtful, and/or delicious! :)

Hi Cookies and Carrots readers! My name is Chelsey, and I blog over at Clean Eating Chelsey. Nicole and I are doing a blog swap today, so be sure to check out her post at my place!

I thought I would talk to you about something very, very important today. Like seriously important – you should probably cancel any other plans you have this evening so you can devote yourself to this post. No, I’m not joking.

I want to talk to you about…

Peanut butter. Contrary to popular belief, I do not want to talk about the huge bags underneath my eyes. Give a girl some slack here folks – 6 AM doesn’t look good on most people, including me. I promptly used that spoon to depuff my eyes after eating my OIAJ.

Peanut butter and I have a very special relationship. For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved peanut butter.

Okay, that’s a lie. I liked peanut butter when I was a kid – I never really loved it.

Sure, I had my fair share of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for brown bag lunches, but it was never anything I swooned over. In fact, I was always a little bit resentful of the kids who got to bring fluffernutter sandwiches to school – my mom was so against the fluff. It was sad to me then, but I understand it now. My kids are probably going to hate me since I won’t allow fluff within a 100 foot radius of them, but I’m already over it.

When I was growing up, we were a JIF kind of family – you know, that “peanut butter” filled with hydrogenated oils. Yum, sounds delicious, right? Wrong. I’m kind of a peanut butter snob now. Peanut butter must have just peanuts and salt. Evaporated cane juice and palm fruit oil is sometimes okay. Just give me the peanuts – I don’t need anything else. In fact, now that I have seen the light (aka eaten real peanut butter), there is no way I will ever go back to eating JIF (aka fake peanut butter) again. It just doesn’t compare. If you’re on the fence between real and fake peanut butter, just go for it – more specifically, go for Trader Joe’s Organic Creamy Peanut Butter.

The turning point for me was when I started putting peanut butter in my oatmeal. In fact, I thought that I was coming up with some novel idea by doing that until I realized three years later there was a whole blog world already on top of the whole oatmeal with peanut butter and bananas deal. So much for being one to pave the way for others. Around this same time, I went on a peanut rampage. I worked at a restaurant where eating peanuts and throwing the shells on the floor is mandatory. While my partaking in this event just meant I would have to sweep more up, I didn’t care. All I wanted was some peanuts.

I have branched out to other nuts – almonds, cashews – but nothing tastes as good as peanut butter. My favorite way to eat peanut butter is on top of oats or stuffed in dates

and we also can’t forget right off the spoon.

I actually think my biggest fear is being allergic to peanuts – or having a child that is highly allergic to peanuts. I think I would cry. So do me a favor today – eat a spoonful of peanut butter. I swear it will make your day complete.

Question: What is your favorite way to enjoy peanut butter?

41 Responses to “a peanut-buttery guest post: clean eating chelsey”

  1. Jess@HealthyExposures May 11, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    ahhh, I love chelsey, and of course, this post! i remember when I hated the all-natural peanut butters – just peanuts and salt. Now it’s all I want! I’ve tried the fun flavors (and still love my homemade figgy pb) but at the end of the day…plain ol’ peanut butter is the winner :)
    i love pb stuffed in dates, on bananas or in my bowls of cereal. or, yeah, straight from the spoon works too…

  2. hippierunner May 11, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Peanut butter cookies are my favorite way to eat pb!

  3. sharelle @ essential-ingredient May 11, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    eat spoonful of pb right off spoon? done and done. :)
    love pb & could never go back to jif either. (unless i make a protein shake at work – that’s all they have!)

  4. Kate @thepseudovegan May 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    I CRINGE AT JIF! ickk! i loveee PB, i too have branched out to cashew, almond and sunflower butter but nothing is as good as peanut butter :) the better question would be what way do I not like peanut butter!!

  5. Mac May 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I haven’t had this in forever, but I love having ice cream with milk over it (that makes little icy chunks) with peanut butter on the side… delish, try it!

  6. Katelyn @ Chef Katelyn May 11, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Love Chels! Our family is a family of serious peanut buttery addictive proportions…we eat a whole jar a day! …I wish I was kidding.

  7. Gina May 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Right out of the jar ;)
    Or in frosting form!

  8. elleeatsvegan May 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    ack, jif is so gross! i LOVE pb with just peanuts and salt, and DCD sometimes too, and i eat it off the spoon daily :) my favorite way to eat pb is with oatmeal or bananas.

  9. Tara May 11, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    So I absolutely love how Chelsey wrote an entire post on Peanut Butter. Why didn’t I think of it sooner!? She’s a genius. I could go on and on about the substance.
    I personally like it best on a banana or in a sandwich, though I think I’d eat anything if it was covered in peanut butter…

    • cleaneatingchelsey May 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      I can promise you I am anything but a genius. Just an ordinary girl who loves peanut butter.

  10. runyogarepeat May 11, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I just read this while eating an apple + PB snack with perfect, drippy, organic PB! I like it best in oatmeal or just from the spoon.

  11. Maria May 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    I love peanut butter. I can eat it right off the spoon. But my favorite way to enjoy it is with a cut up apple, a spoonful of peanut butter, pop it in the microwave until the peanut starts to melt. Soooo good!

  12. Amanda @ Running with Spoons May 11, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Is it okay to profess my love for almond butter in a post that’s dedicated to peanut butter? Because I love me some AB :) Okay, allergies really leave me no choice, but still… I do love the AB. On oatmeal. On bananas. In sandwiches. On my finger… I’m not that particular about the vehicle that gets AB from the jar to my mouth, as long as it gets there, and makes several round trips :)

  13. vegan aphrodite May 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Haha, that reminded me that I also actually used to put PB on mye oatmeal, and I had not any ide anyone else did :)
    Great post! I do prefere other nutbutters over peanut butter these days. Cashew is my fave. And I need to eat it out of the glass with a spoon. Thats the only way!

  14. Christine @ Merf In Progress May 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Ah! I just posted about enjoying peanut butter oats in a jar. Seriously, peanut butter. No other nut butter is the same. There is no substitute. Other nut butters have their pluses, but there is nothing quite like good ol’ peanut butter.

  15. katshealthcorner May 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    RIGHT OFF THE SPOON!!! Just like you said girl!! :) I also love it in Oatmeal! :)

    • Tiff May 12, 2011 at 7:19 am #

      I agree! Off the spoon is the best, but there are others tied for close seconds, thirds, etc.

  16. megan @ the oatmeal diaries May 12, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    ON A SPOON!

  17. movesnmunchies May 12, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    i LOVE YOU
    and im currentlyl eating pb on my OATS as I TYPE THIS!

  18. Courtney @ Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life May 12, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    Mmmmmmmm, peanut butter!
    I can eat it any way, any time, any how. I don’t judge. ;)

    • Tiff May 12, 2011 at 7:19 am #

      Agreed! In fact, this post made me want pb now… I said NOW :)

  19. PoweredbyPeanutButter May 12, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    Love this post. In oatmeal is definitely my fave way to enjoy pb.

  20. pumpedforpumpkin May 12, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    Peanut butter and anything!!! I love peanut butter! But especially with apples. it’s one of my favorite combos behind peanut butter and dark chocolate :)

  21. fashionfitnessfoodie May 12, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I saw your post over there too :) My favorite way to eat peanut butter is with a SPOON!

  22. Bake a Little May 12, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    This is a great post! I was just thinking about how much i LOVE peanut butter. But I was the kinda kid who loved it too. Couldnt get enough of PB and J sandwiches. I actually recently made a PB &J Bar that you can find on my blog. It definitely hits the spot if your a peanut butter girl!

  23. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 12, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Fabulous! I love all the nut butter lovin in this post! My favorite way to eat PB is on carrots with raisins! Such a good combo!

  24. Stephanie May 12, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Ha, I totally ate peanut butter and bananas on/in my oats before I knew about the bloggy world. My fave way is probably on top of apples with ribbon coconut on top. I like it straight off the spoon, in oats, on bananas and on toast too, though. Also I’m totally a PB snob too. I won’t ever have PB if there’s anything but peanuts and maybe salt. Sugar and palm oil just don’t do it for me, especially since palm oil and sugar are horrible for the planet.

  25. Jill Mace May 12, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Ok! I am still a Skippy girl-but I have been on the fence with going all natural. This post has pushed me over the top. Next time I am at Trader Joe’s I am going to “go for it”!!!!

  26. Vivianne May 12, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    I didn’t know that JIF was so artificial! I should really check out some actually delicious, real peanut butter… thanks for the update! (;

    I am definite a fellow peebs lover, can’t wait to check out your blog!

  27. thefitacademic May 12, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    love peanut butter in ALL forms! A plop in a smoothie, in a bowl of oatmeal,straight from the jar, etc ; )

  28. Jess May 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I eat so much peanut butter. :D I am addicted, and i love itttt!!

  29. Mackenzie @ Eat. Exercise. Evolve May 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Don’t purchase palm oil! http://www.cspinet.org/palm/

  30. Jenny May 14, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    I love pb from jar to spoon to mouth :D

  31. kissmybroccoli May 14, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I definitely feel ya on the peanut butter addiction! I like to switch things up a bit here and there with some almond or sunflower seed butter, but my LOVE will always go to the peanut! So funny, I actually had a spo- well, FORKful of pb today! I must’ve been feeling the Chelsey vibes!

    I hate that my parents won’t buy the natural stuff! I know if they ever gave it a chance, they’d love it!

  32. kaceytorres June 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    i am definitely a peanut butter lover in all forms and fashions! when my husband and i got married a few months ago and combined the food from our houses, we had a total of 11 jars of peanut butter in 6 different flavors! we love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. feeling loved. « Of Cookies & Carrots - May 12, 2011

    […] you guys for your lovely comments both on Chelsey’s guest post and on my post on her blog (about comparison & feeling good about yourself… oh and […]

Leave a Reply

