banana pancakes.

16 May

Pretend like it’s the weekend…

I wish. I also wish it were summer and I were at home where these photos were taken oh-so-long ago.

This week kind of sucks for me. I have 2.5 tests (one’s a “quiz”), 1 review session to plan, 1 small paper, and 1 big paper I really need to get working on. So do excuse me if I’m a little more absent(minded) than usual.

So in lieu of intelligent posts, I will ply you full of photos of treats I made long ago while I stuff myself full of more dietary fiber than a cow probably eats in a day (when I’m stressed, I binge-eat vegetables. It’s perfectly normal, I swear).

And we’ll both look longingly at the pictures & I will hopefully stop looking at them long enough to study…

But fear not, I will be back in full force soon. 13 days of classes left, 24 days of the quarter left, & then I will be free!

This recipe comes from Peanut Butter Boy… check him out if for no other reason than he apparently loves peanut butter a whole hell of a lot which gives us a lot in common. It’s definitely healthy-tasting and is more of a protein pancake than a typically fluffy, light, comforting pancake, but I rather enjoyed them, though I’d be curious to see how a pinch of baking powder would work… and I definitely want to whip up some completely nutritionally devoid banana pancakes in the near future.

Possibly while listening to Jack Johnson. Just for kicks.

Banana Cottage-Cheese Pancakes
from here

1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup nonfat cottage cheese
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons egg white/egg substitute
1 overripe banana, divided
(possible addition: 1/4-1/2 teaspoon baking powder?)
blueberries, chocolate chips, or desired mix-ins (optional)

Blend together oats, cottage cheese, egg substitute, and half of banana until well mixed; if it’s too thick, add a little bit of milk or water and mix until it reaches the desired consistency. Slice other half of banana into thin slices to put on top of pancakes.

Heat a large skillet and spray with cooking spray (or use butter/oil). Drop about 1/4-cup-fuls of batter and flatten if necessary; press banana slices in gently. Cook for 1-2 minutes or until the top starts to set, then flip and cook on other side for about a minute.

Spread with peanut butter, drizzle with maple syrup, coat with chocolate chips, or eat them however you want.

And definitely pretend like it’s the weekend.

What do you eat when you’re stressed?

Any Jack Johnson fans? :) I have a really distinct memory of listening to him on the car ride to crew practice after school… Combo of his crooning + the heat of the car made it VERY difficult to get out of the car and out onto the cold water though!!!

32 Responses to “banana pancakes.”

  1. pawsitivelife May 16, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Way to make such healthy food. I CANNOT wait to try it out

  2. beyondbananas May 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    These look awesome.. I am always loving anything with bananas!

  3. Ma Ma Megan May 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    I am a jack Johnson fan. His music is just so happy. I love it :)

  4. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 16, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I heart jack too =) He got me through college and many many long road trips =) annnd I most certainly danced to better together at my wedding. so cliche. still awesome though <3

    good luck on your tests!!!!!!!!

  5. Jenny May 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Love the pancakes!! I’ve never made any with bananas before they look so fluffy!! And I’ve heard a few Jack songs and I love them :D

  6. keepnthefaith May 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    LOVE jack johnson :) he’s the perfect summer soundtrack! I had pancakes this morning too, no banana IN them, but there was a banana eaten WITH them! Haha

  7. Amanda @ Running with Spoons May 16, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Grr! So it’s Monday, and I probably won’t be able to make pancakes until the weekend… thank you for forcing me to deal with my cravings until then! But I forgive you because these look oh so fabulous <3

    When I'm stressed I actually lose my appetite completely =\ But I do love snacking on carrot sticks, crackers, and fruit when I'm studying.

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots May 16, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      See I actualy kind of lose my appetite for, like, real food. But I want things to chew on, for some reason, and crave vegetables and eat pounds of them. And turn orange. Oh well…

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    As soon as I saw the title, I knew there was gonna be a Jack Johnson reference! I luuurve him.

    And I totally binge on veggies all the time…it’s a problem :)

  9. Jess May 16, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    BANANA PANCAKES? oh yes pleaseee!!

  10. Tara May 16, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    This recipe sounds so good. Banana pancakes are my favorite kind! It takes me right back to my childhood when my Dad would make them for me as a special treat. Of course I always think of the song too… I love Jack Johnson!

  11. Caroline @ Out of Liney May 16, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Yum! These look delish. Know what you mean about the vegetables- I keep a 5-pound bag of carrots in my refrigerator for a reason!

    Also, I was craving pancakes this morning (posted about it here: http://www.outofliney.com/?p=119 ), and ended up making some “nutritionally devoid” ones lol- may try adapting PB Boy’s for a post-workout meal!

  12. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 16, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Girl! I binge eat on veggies when I’m stressed too! Haha! :)

  13. Mariah@Applesnoats May 16, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I instantly started singing that song the second I saw your title!!:)
    Anything with Pb is amazing sooo therefore these must be pretty darn tasty!

  14. courtney (pancakes and postcards) May 16, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    my favorite breakfast ever. i’ve also been known to eat this for lunch. or dinner. regardless of mood.

  15. Rach @ This Italian Family May 17, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    These look incredibly fabulous!

  16. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey May 17, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Love Jack Johnson! I haven’t heard a ton, but I really enjoy what I have heard. :)

    Those pancakes look really great. I made some killer banana pancakes for my mom on Mother’s Day. :)

  17. (what runs) Lori May 17, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Mmmmm these look absolutely fluffy and delicious.

  18. Alexa @ Simple Eats May 17, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I LOVE Jack Johnson! I saw him last summer in concert and he was amazing! I’ve never thought of putting cottage cheese in pancakes, but I bet they’re super fluffy!

  19. fashionfitnessfoodie May 17, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    We both made banana pancakes!! I love pancakes as comfort food :)

  20. movesnmunchies May 17, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    i LOVE jack johnson! i went to one of his concerts in hyde park here!… good luck on ur tests and papers!

  21. TheNewHealthy May 17, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I saw Jack Johnson in concert last summer – ahmazing!!! :)

  22. runyogarepeat May 17, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I started singing this song as soon as I saw the title! I love Jack Johnson!

  23. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Oh my goodness. I have not not made these in ages but you totally just reminded me. I know what I’ll be making soon! :) Those looks nomtastic.

  24. vegan aphrodite May 17, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Mmm, Im working on a recipe for oat pancekes too- yours looks so good!
    When Im stressed I tend to eat dark chocolate. Nothing else works for me :P I usually make a big cup of green tea to go with it! I find that I slow down my eating that way, and actually enjoy the chocolate more :)

  25. Natalie @ will jog for food May 17, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    When I’m stressed I go to carbs! chips, bread, fries…

    The banana pancakes look so good!

  26. Ashley@bakerbynature May 17, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Looking forward to the coming weekend and Saturday morning pancakes! These look so yummy, and creative.

  27. Kristin @ FoodFash May 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Those pancakes are so fluffy! I don’t have a go-to stress food, but I love peanut butter so much that I plop a blob of peanut butter and superfruit spread in ramekin for dessert.

  28. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin May 17, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    These look delicious! And I love Jack Johnson too. His album “In Between Dreams” will forever remind me of summer 2007!

  29. Kayla May 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    When I’m Stressed I eat Desserts. Perfectly healthy. :)

  30. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I eat anything I can get my hands on when I’m stressed! Usually tubs of ice cream…. or boxes of cereal…

  31. thebeautynotebooks May 18, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    These look delicious! And super easy, too! I will have to try them :)

Leave a Reply

