big brother.

21 May

Yesterday was my little brother’s 14th birthday. Thing is, he’s not really my “little” brother anymore.

Before he was born, I was adamant about my desire for a little sister. So much so, in fact, that I may have thrown a tantrum at the ultrasound where they noticed his… other parts. Of course, in retrospect, I’m glad I don’t have a sister to share the spotlight with… I rather like being the “pretty” one. ;)

Fast forward to the day before he was born. I whispered into my mom’s belly, “Come out and play with me!” And what do you know, the like always-obedient brother he is (ha!) he did, two weeks ahead of schedule.

I guess I’ve known since then that my days as a “big” sister were numbered. Well, I mean, I think I had some delusional belief that I might stay taller than him until I was about 11, when I realized that that was not likely nor desirable. My dad’s 6’3″, my mom’s 5’4″… Genetically, it wasn’t gonna happen.

I’ve been joking for years about how I knew I’d come back from college some time and he’d be bigger than me. But it still snuck up on us, his insane growth spurt. This is us in Italy this summer… I’m clearly just a teeensy bit taller.

And then three short months later…

My dad, of course, eggs him on, saying that since he’s bigger he should be the big brother. I told him he wasn’t worthy of big brother status until he could lift me. Well…

Apparently I’m heavy… Or he just didn’t want this picture taken 

Oops.

But regardless of who’s physically bigger, we all know who’s boss. I summoned him. I call the shots. ;)

And regardless of how big he gets, he’s still my baby brother. We may not talk very often, but only we know how to put up with our parents, how to appease my mother, and mess with our dogs. Only I have sat through countless hours of Barney and Teletubbies with him, and only he has put up with my brief spats with my mother.

And while I’m not home, again, to celebrate with him and bake him things, I’ll be thinking of him and wishing him a happy birthday and good luck on his regatta this weekend.

Happy (belated) birthday, Big Brother. Only you could make that face with me. :)

Tell me about your siblings! :) How many, what kind, how old, cute? Single? (kidding… mostly ;) )

106 Responses to “big brother.”

  1. mollie November 29, 1999 at 5:00 pm #

    I just stumbled apon this & I laugh/cried [there should be an acronym for that]! Your description of your little brother reminds me of the relationship I have of my own little brother! [He is 18 & just graduated fro high school, eeek!] Your ending is perfect too; no matter how far apart siblings are, there is always that connection of the past and of family [& there will always be silly faces & inside jokes that no one else understands!]

  2. Phantom Girl November 29, 1999 at 5:00 pm #

    This post is so neat. It reminds me of my little brother who I’m slowing watching grow up and become taller then me too :) It’s amazing how things work these days

  3. surviving the reverse transfer November 29, 1999 at 5:00 pm #

    You and your brother are adorable!
    My sister is single, but she’s 17. Wouldn’t want to take advantage of the youth.
    But I’m glad to see some siblings getting along so well. Family and their love is important and it’s sad to see that crumbling in our time. :/
    But, again, you two look quite happy.
    Keep loving your broski.

  4. Jess May 21, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Awww, too cute! I have two younger brothers, and they are growing up SO FAST!

  5. Lindsay@LivingLindsay May 21, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Awe, that’s so sweet! I have an older sister – she’s 4 years older and we weren’t really all that close until I was about 23. I guess 4 years is too many years for girls! I would read her diary, annoy her, etc. etc. Can’t say I blame her :)

  6. Tara May 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your brother!! I have two older brothers, 21 and 19, but both have learning disabilities that make it hard to consider them older than me. I’ve always been the first to do everything and being more mentally mature it’s like being the oldest. I also have a younger sister who is 8. She is such a tomboy she is like a brother. She only plays on boys sports teams, dresses like a boy, and hangs out with boys. We get along well though… most of the time!

  7. Jess@HealthyExposures May 21, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Happy birthday to your brother! Loved the pics of you two :) I have an older sister. We…uh…get along swimmingly…sometimes :P

  8. thebeautynotebooks May 21, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    This is a really sweet post! I love having a brother! He is my twin :) It was interesting growing up because one of us would always be a smidge taller than the other in height until I reached puberty. Then I was a good couple inches taller until it was his turn–now he’s 3 inches taller than me forever! Happy Birthday to your brother!

  9. Ma Ma Megan May 21, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Awe! Happy birthday to your bro. You guys look so much alike!

    I have two younger sisters. One is 2 years younger but about 3-4 inches taller so people can’t usually tell I’m the oldest. haha Until they start talking to us!

  10. movesnmunchies May 22, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    ahhhHAPPYBDAY! i have an older bro so he was always taller than me!! now hes 6’3!

  11. Jenny May 22, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    my brother just went to his SENIOR prom the other day and I seriously almost died. When did that little boy that used to prance around in my night gowns and watch Bob the Builder become a freaking’ MAN?! It kills me.. and makes me feel old.

    Such a precious post — yay for sibling love <3

  12. The Teenage Taste May 22, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Happy Birthday to your brother! I can totally relate to the whole big sister and big brother thing. I have a 10 year old brother and he is 3 inches shy of being my height (5ft 5in) Scary! :P

  13. hippierunner May 22, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Aww! Happy Birthday to him!!! I love all the pictures of you guys, you’re both cuties! I laughed when you said “I summoned him. I call the shots.”

    Today’s my brother’s birthday. He’s 8 now, I hope he’s not taller than me when I get back lol but I know that’s coming soon. I also have a sister who is my opposite..we don’t get along at all!

  14. Katie May 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Happy Birthday to him! How sweet you dedicated a post to him!!!

    I have 4 sisters!!!!

    34, 32, 22, and 19!

  15. Molly May 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Such a cute post! Ah, it is crazy how fast and big our little siblings grow while we are away. Seriously my brother who is 15 is about to outgrow me… and that sister who is almost 10 is almost past my shoulders. Crazy how people in 1 family can be different heights.

  16. kate May 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    happy birthday to your little bro you two are so cute :) enjoy your time together.

  17. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate May 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Tell him happy birthday for me!

  18. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds May 23, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    love the picture of him lifting you…HAHAHAA. Someone needs to go on a diet….haha jk. He is a cutie…too bad I’m a little I’m like a decade too old…

  19. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy May 23, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Aww, happy belated birthday to your bro!! My ‘little’ sister is 14 and she literally towers over me!! I’m the shortest in the fam!

  20. pawsitivelife May 23, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Im an only child…booo!..I so wish I had sibilings, got pretty lonely. You and your bro look super cute

  21. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 23, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Aw, happy birthday to your brother! I have an older brother that I don’t get along with at all and a twin sister who’s my best friend :) It evens out, haha!

  22. Rach May 24, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    Hahaha! Such a cute post! I’m taller than both my older sisters, but my younger sister is taller than me. I remember the day that I outgrew my 16-year-old 5’3 sister when I was 10… I was SO proud. :P And then I out grew my oldest sister (she’s 5’6) when I was in high school. And then my little baby sister out grew ME after I went off to college. I topped out at 5’8 and she’s 5’11. ;) And my brother is 6’2. We have lotsa tall genes in my family. My mom is 5’3, but her sister is 6′. Yeah, crazy. ;)

    Anyway, happy birthday to your big-little-bro! :)

  23. runyogarepeat May 24, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Happy birthday to him! I have 2 younger sisters, but one of them is taller & stronger than me.

  24. Katherine: Unemployed May 24, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    happy birthday! I love seeing you guys hugging etc! I have a bro but he wouldn’t let me touch him

  25. keepnthefaith May 24, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    You guys are so sweet together!! I love my baby bro, I cant believe he is already 11 years old!! He has always followed me around, but I am dreading the days when he is too old and no longer wants to hang with his “uncool” sister!

  26. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 24, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Aw happy birthday to your brother!! I’m 5 years older than my bro and I love him so so much!!

  27. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 24, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Awww what a cute post!

    Unfortunately I’m an only child! I always wanted a sibling! :(

  28. squigglefloey May 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Hi girl! I loved this post because I’m a big sister too, and my “younger” brother will turn 19 in a few weeks (!). I was actually SO sad that I didn’t get a little sister when he was born, but he’s actually prettty amazing :)

  29. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife June 14, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    What a sweet post! The photo of your baby brother looking at the cake is priceless :)

  30. banbamama June 14, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    sniff, this post gave me moment. Just lovely, Well done on being freshly pressed!

  31. Mikalee Byerman June 14, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    What a touching post…beautiful!

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed. Well deserved…

    :)

    Mikalee

  32. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 14, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    What a great post! I hope he’s a little red. You know he loves it though.

  33. She's a Maineiac June 14, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    I loved this post. You can really see the sibling love in the photos. I have five brothers and no sisters (sigh) but one is younger than me and he and I are the closest. He knows me better than anyone. He lives far away but I still call him every week or so to keep in touch. Congrats on being FP.

  34. My Camera, My Friend June 14, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Glad you and your brother have such a good relationship. When I came home from college, there were times I felt like I was getting to know my family all over again, especially my sister. Thankfully, we seem to be reconnecting well.

  35. Things You Realize After You Get Married June 14, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    Such a cute post! I have no brothers, only older sisters. Unfortunately they call the shots (boo!), but only I get to be the “baby” of the family! (yay!) ;)

  36. wadingacross June 14, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    I’m an only child by birth, but I have three older step-sisters on one side and two younger adopted siblings (boy and girl) on the other. Out of the whole batch I’m closest to my brother, and even then not that close (he’s almost 20, I’m 37).

    I got along okay with my older step-sisters but the youngest one (2 years my senior) and I were “mortal” enemies in high school when she lived with us for a couple of years… we were both the “babies”.

    So, other than here and there for a few years, I’ve pretty much lived my life as the only child that I am.

    Interestingly, I’m the first person in my paternal line for five generations to have more than two children – and the first to have a daughter. I have three boys and a girl ages 5 to 3 months! Thankfully my wife was one of four daughters, and they’re a fairly close-knit family.

  37. thepoolman June 14, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    You guys are cute. My son and daughter are just 19 months apart. We never thought they would stop fighting. In their teens it started to turn, and now, at the ages of 30 and 29 they are now best of friends. Nice to see it happen.

  38. Ariana@Pearl's twirl June 14, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    How awesome!!! Your parents raised you right!!! Happy Birthday to you not so little brother and congrats on FP!!!

  39. gaycarboys June 14, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Really sweet pics. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  40. my0wneyes June 14, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Congrats on being FP…Great post. I had an older sister (7 years older would have been 36) she was my best friend…I have a younger brother (20) and sister (17).

  41. rbogdanoff June 14, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    I have 2 younger brothers (and a younger sister and older brother). I was away for a summer, and in May the 15 yr old was 2 in shorter than me. By August, he was at least an inch or two taller than me! My other 14 yr old brother is officially 6 ft, and def taller. I agree w/ you, though, that even though they are taller we older sisters are def the ones still calling the shots ;p

  42. beckyyk June 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    I love sibling bonds! So sweet.

  43. I Made You A Mixtape June 14, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    What a cute post! Such lovely photos. I have always wanted to have a brother or a sister… :o) When you become older you’ll notice how invaluable they are…

  44. Jennifer Avventura June 14, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Cute post dedicated to your brother. He should be proud to have a sister like you. Congrats on Freshly Pressed.

  45. sheokhanda June 14, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I am six years older to my sister, when she was about to be born. I wished I could have a brother…. :)

    But I can assure you in spirit she is no short of the brother I wanted …..

    God bless both of you…..

  46. bookjunkie June 14, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    This is soo sweet…I’ve always wanted a little brother or a big brother :)

  47. PCC Advantage June 14, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    This is such a sweet post! I have one brother and he’s older than me by 2 years. He’s awesome and has always been such a big part of my life. Thanks for reminding me today how thankful I should be for my brother! :)

  48. theamberlight June 14, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I am the oldest of seven (that I know of, Dad could have some more out there, we don’t know for sure!)
    I grew up as the oldest of four (the four my Mom had) girl, boy, girl, boy. I was always Mommy’s helper and still am at 45. We are 45, 43, 41 and (almost) 39. Mom had to work a lot (because of no dads around) so I was “the mom” much of the time. They still will slip and call me Mom sometimes. :) Although we had a rough childhood, we are all doing well, have nice lives and no disasters to live down. I was and still am the BIG sister, as I am the tallest in the family. Very fun post!!! Congrats of Freshly Presssed!!!

  49. bold4myjesus June 14, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    That’s sweet. Family is very important. God bless you both.

  50. bold4myjesus June 14, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Always stay together. As a bug sister he will always value you. Be a great example.

  51. thor27 June 14, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    That’s a neat blog. Yeah he was straining to lift you but he did it. Come visit my blog.

  52. ournote2self June 14, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Happy birthday to your younger big brother. I have a younger brother and a younger sister and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

  53. GG June 14, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Happy Birthday to your brother…

  54. eva626 June 14, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    such a wonderful post..i loved it!!! yes my three younger brothers all seem like they out grew me…i cant brag about my height anymore

  55. la-vandala-abusiva June 14, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Nice=) I understand you. I have 2 “little” brothers, both of them taller than me…but it’s nice to be the big sister!!

  56. unintentionalslut June 14, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Awww! I can relate to just about everything you wrote. When my ‘baby’ brother was 14 and I was 20 he came to visit me in NYC and people thought we were twins! Stay close!!! It’s soooo worth it:D

  57. childofmodernjubilee June 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    My “baby brother” turned 14 this year as well and not only is he way taller (and 9 years younger than me), every time I see him the VOICE is more and more manly and deep! I have both a younger sister and two younger brothers and though I’m naturally closer to my sister as we’re closer in age, there’s a special bond with little brothers that I’m so glad I get to have. Congrats on making freshly pressed!

  58. CrowdTheories June 14, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I’m the eldest of 2. I always wished i was the middle brother because personally, people don’t really put up expectations about the middle one. they always forget about them. But i always cherish the fact that i look up to my little brother as a big brother and we’ve gotten closer since we’ve moved away from each other.

  59. Ivynettle June 14, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Sounds so familiar – apparently, when my youngest brother was born, and I was told it was a boy, I said, ‘Not another boy…’ – I don’t remember it, but it’s an often-told story.

    And now he’s a head taller than me…. my work trousers are the ones he grew out of when he was twelve or thirteen…
    Made for some funny dialogues, though – me, to a friend: ‘Stop that, or I’ll tell my big brother!’ – Friend: ‘You don’t have a big brother!’ – Me: ‘Yes, I do – I just don’t have an older brother!’

    He’d kill me for posting pics of him, though.

  60. Absurdity in the Mundane June 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    This was adorable! and so much like my own sibling relationships. I have three younger brothers (we are all two years and four months apart…go figure) and two of them have already grown taller than me.It makes me feel like such a shrimp! Haha

  61. Clarissa June 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Let’s see. I have four other sibilings. The first three are two boys and a girl and the last one is younger than me by 18 months. Don’t worry about how smaller you are than your little brother, because I’m the smallest in my family. I’m 5’2″ and from there, it gets taller.
    My little bro is the cutest although he’s a smarty pants half of the time. We got the end of the stick from our parents. By the time we got into high school, my parents were worn out and really had no time for us but we make that up with each other. Out of all five of the kids, my parents know that even though my little bro and I fight like an “old married couple” (as my parents call us) we still have the closest relationship. After next summer, he will be the only one at home, so I can pretty much relate to your story, only I haven’t missed his brithday yet.

  62. ♥ Thaanie ♥ June 14, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Me too!

    *****
    Nice Article!
    Luhvlie Pics! ♥ ♥
    U 2 look really cute together~ :P
    Pls. comment on my blog :

    http://www.thaanie.wordpress.com

    ——————————————
    Thanx :) ♥

  63. YouGetWellSoon June 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    That was really sweet – I hope that my two little ones can be so good together!
    Thanks for the post

  64. Leilani June 14, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I found this an interesting entry because I, too, pouted when I learned that my little brothers were not going to be little sisters. We got along okay but still, they were BOYS! It amazes me when brothers and sisters are close. I dunno why, though. If I ever decide to have kids I would like a daughter. And if I decide to have another I would like my daughter to have a sister. But if all goes haywire and I have a girl AND a boy, your entry gives me hope that it will all end well. :)

  65. brokenresolutions June 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Your post made me miss my little brother. He turned 20 today. I feel guilty now for not writing a post dedicated to him on his birthday, lol.

  66. ostbear June 14, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Well in my birth type family I have one sister who is younger and still…. lost.

    My extended family has many sisters! Four of them! 1 older and three younger. My older sister is more like the wise man of the woods. The other three are insane :S

    My extended family has one brother. He is older than me by 6 months but is by far my greatest friend and staunchest ally. He was also the one who convinced his family to adopt me, so I might be bias :P.

  67. aschmid3 June 14, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    It’s always nice to see siblings who get along! You two are adorable :)

    My brother is a year younger than me, but he now towers about eight inches over me. He will always be my “little” brother too though. Happy birthday to your brother!

  68. lilkwalla June 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading this. I actually wrote this evening about watching me “baby” sister going to prom and leaving high school – it’s very strange to see her becoming an adult, because I know I’m older but I certainly don’t feel like an adult myself!
    Kitty

  69. k8edid June 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I have 7 siblings…I tell people my parents weren’t Catholic – just bored.

    Four sisters and 3 brothers. My youngest brother was born on my 17th birthday. When I married and left my childhood home, I missed him the most.

    Love your birthday tribute to your “little bro”. Congratulations on being FP

  70. Harold June 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    A very nice post! Congrats on being FP! I have 7 siblings, 3 brothers and 4 sisters. We are not that close. Enjoy each other and take time to talk, time flies.

  71. kfsb97 June 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    oohh how nice is very sweet thank God for your brother and it’s true brothers and we grow much older brothers being older, we gain in stature jajajaja and experience that touched me:)

  72. Maureen June 14, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    What a sweet post! I’m the oldest of three girls–but I’m the shortest! So I know what you mean about sibling growth spurts sneaking up on you and suddenly finding that you’re the “little” one. But, hey, we know that, growth spurts or not, we will ALWAYS be the big sisters. :)

    Happy birthday to your brother!

  73. tucsonsongstress June 14, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    What a great blog! Reading this is making me want to call my brother! Loved all the pictures, too. Really…a very charming post to read. Loved it!

  74. elliona June 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I’m the youngest of 6 – but I share this with my twin brother! He was born 6 minutes after me and was a “surprise” because no one knew our mom was carrying twins. I’m dating myself because this was obviously before ultrasounds! So, technically he is my little brother. We are great friends now and still have a lot of fun when we get together.

    Fun read!

  75. gmom June 14, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Happy Birthday Little Brother! Beautiful Boy! This goes out to you both….

    I sought my soul, but my soul I could not see. I sought my God, but my God eluded me. I sought my brother and I found all three. ~Author Unknown

    Wonderful post!

  76. indowaves June 14, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I enjoyed reading about your bonhomie with your “big brother” :-)

    -Arvind K. Pandey

    http://indowaves.wordpress.com/

  77. envisageworks June 14, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Brother looks JUST like the kid of Super 8… Anyone?

  78. GD June 14, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    What a sweet post! Happy birthday- and height is no factor; at least it shouldn’t be. Age is king: don’t let him think that ’cause he’s bigger he’s the boss!

    -GD
    My writing blog: http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

  79. fitrianto June 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    happy birthday to your brother, yes time is so fleeting. it seems only yesterday that we hold our brother, now we are even in carrying him .. hehe

  80. agomonee June 14, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    This is seriously sweet. I have a younger brother too and even I thought he’d never outgrow my height. He is 6’2″ now and my insane thought of childhood seems almost ancient. Loved it. Keep writing!

  81. Pollyanna Darling June 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I love that you summoned him! I have two little brothers, one in France, one in England. I used to push down on the top of Harry’s head to make sure he didn’t get taller than me. It worked until he was about 14. Now I’m much more worried about my four male children. One is almost as tall as me and he’s only 10! Shouldn’t be allowed, how can I have authority from beneath their noses?

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed and I like your writing style. x

  82. Andrés June 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Beautiful

  83. Sasasmile :) June 15, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    I wish I had a brother too. :D

  84. CommentatorandPoet June 15, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Visting this site and sharing this story was a pure joy for me. Blessings to the both of you in your individual journey’s, as well as your relationship, as Brother and Sister.

  85. Bola Egunjobi June 15, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    This is awesome, Nicole! I hope your brother reads this post, it has to be the best birthday present ever!

  86. idobelieveinfairiesidoido June 15, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    I’ve got one of those big little borthers, too. Since I’m studying we don’t see each other that often, but I have to say, we get along much better. This weekend I’m going home. :) I’m so looking forward to that!!!

  87. joshichintu June 15, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Nice pic brother and sister.and joy and smile on both will remain life long……I think. you and he are each other support with blood relation . and the height does’t matter any more. Happiness pop out any time for loved once and this is not depend on time.This Brother and sister relation are bonding like fragile thread so need care and love every time to grow….sorry I am from India I taken up this with diferent thought….

  88. richannkur June 15, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    So sweet… Wishing your brother belated happy birthday.

  89. ultimateshayne June 15, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    My sister and I are exactly the same way!
    She’s only a year older though…

    Don’t know what I’d do without her

  90. Karen June 15, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Love this! So well written. My older sister is my life-line and my best friend.

  91. abhi June 15, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    your bonding is great with your brother. Warmest wishes to your brother on his b’day

  92. sidhu89 June 15, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    really a sweet post………hey u r lucky to have her as your sister.
    i am the only son of my parents. but i have three girls which are like real sisters to me n they love me same………one is my maternal uncle’s daughter(30) (she got married last year), second is my friend’s elder sister(28)…..she is getting married later this year……third one is lecturer of fine arts in a college(27) (she is planning too to get married this or the very next year).

    Your comment is awaiting moderation.

  93. Jupiter June 15, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Brother Sister relation is a gift from God. You are lucky, Enjoy

  94. Tamara Harrison June 15, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    This is such a sweet post, it made me smile and feel sad that I don’t talk to my “little-big brother” much anymore, who also is taller and definitely can lift me :) Thanks for your writing. God bless
    Tamara

  95. sportsjim81 June 15, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I have a younger sister who takes after my Mom and her siblings who are all 5’1″ or below. As far as my kids go, I have a daughter and a son, the girl being the older one like you. She’s taller than him right (considering she’s two and he’s not quite 1) but there’s no doubt that he’ll overtake her someday. Nice story!

  96. CONIEFOX June 15, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Wow…. So cute. beauful potos. I have 2 yong brogher too, but they seldom speak to me. What’ a pity!

  97. 7des7iny June 15, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    Happy birthday to your brother :)
    Always good to reminiscent on the good times!

  98. the island traveler June 15, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Your affection to you brother is admirable. He’s lucky to have you as his big sis. The picture of you w/ him when he was newly born was endearing. I’m the eldest of 5 sisters and You made remember how it was then. I miss being a big brother. Thanks. Congrats. Well deserve. You have a great family. Cherish them always.

  99. ursomainstream June 15, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Wish I had a little brother.. *sob sob

  100. hiit June 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Happy Birthday Little Brother! and congrats!

  101. thegeeman June 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I have three brothers. i am the oldest. we drove our mom nuts. My mom wanted a boy but she had a miscarraige between my brother Bill’s birth and Doug’s birth. Four boys what load. It was great but fun.

  102. tucsonsongstress June 16, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Hey Nicole…I just got nominated for the versatile blogger award. I’m not sure if it’s real or not, but it seems like a good way to get to know other bloggers. And!!!…I really like your bog!! So, I’d like to nominate you, too. Here are the rules…

    1. Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
    2. Tell 7 Random facts about yourself.
    3. Pass the award on to 7 new found (or old favorite) bloggers.
    4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it… or not.

    Hope you can do it…I’m working on it right now, so you can check out my post about it in a little bit. Fun to cheerlead for you!

  103. realanonymousgirl2011 June 21, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    How sweet! I have a younger brother that is almost 12 years younger. And he just recently graduated high school. He’s a big boy now! :(

  104. AWildDog June 22, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    That is such a cute post. My siblings are both much older than me. My brother is 16 years older than me, my sister 18 years older than me!

  105. disturbedprincess June 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    ohmygosh this is so cool! btw he is kinda cute too :p

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: delayed dorm edition. « Of Cookies & Carrots - June 14, 2011

    […] was featured on WordPress’s Freshly Pressed on the front page (for this post). Trust me, I did NOT see this coming nor did I really have any idea how it worked, but I am […]

Leave a Reply

