fearful cinnamon rolls

28 May

I’ve mentioned before that I’m kind of a fraidy-cat... remember my story about Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets?

Obviously I have other fears. Like zombies (my friend somehow talked me into watching The Crazies with him last night… not sure how I managed to sleep). Or my somewhat hypochondriacal fear of stress fractures in my shins (though it’s not a totally unfounded fear, nor did it prevent me from running 6.1 miles on the treadmill today… I’m a slowpoke but I was excited I could run for that long!).

My biggest kitchen fear? Yeast. It’s unpredictable. I usually have to go through two packets to get one to come out right. I’m always afraid it just won’t work.

Luckily Mama Pea is here to help… and thus I made cinnamon rolls.

Admittedly, these are from a few months ago. Admittedly, I wanted to post these either on my brother’s birthday or right after, because he is a cinnamon roll addict and I definitely made these for him. (I’m just kind of behind on… life).

Tell my teachers to stop assigning me papers and tests and then maybe I’ll do half the things I intend. (Aka… sorry for the prolonged silence, I’m alive, I promise! And summer is just around the corner and then you won’t be able to get rid of me).

In the meantime, let’s dream of comforting, carby cinnamon rolls sans fear and copious amounts of homework.

You can find the recipe here. Since my brother is a growing teenage boy I made them with half oil instead of the pumpkin (also because I wanted the pumpkin for myself, let’s be honest) but otherwise I made it by the brillliant recipe by Mama Pea. And they were good. I don’t even like cinnamon rolls and I liked them.

Tell me about your fears, culinary or otherwise. :) And your weekend plans for the long weekend! I’m sleeping. And trying to stay afloat in my last week and a half of school this year… IthinkIcanIthinkIcan!

21 Responses to “fearful cinnamon rolls”

  1. Ellie@fitfor the soul May 28, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Whoa those look soooo good nicole!
    Hehe im actually on the road to sf

  2. Emilia @ Namaste Gurl May 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    Ah friend, you can do it- almost there! Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…. (that line sure motivates me currently!)

    Those cinnamon rolls look phenomenal- been on my list to make for quite some time! :) I’m sure they were naughty and delicious.

    Holla at me when you’re done with your semester craze. It’s been too long!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 28, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    You can do it! School is almost over…you’re so close! And baking is a great way to make ya happy even with tons of work from school! Always helps me atleast :)

  4. The Teenage Taste May 28, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Cinnamon rolls are the bomb! Tomorrow I’m planning on making carrot cake flavored ones! Yummy! :-D

  5. Mama Pea May 28, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Aww, thanks for the love. You did an awesome job. I’m a proud mama.

  6. katshealthcorner May 28, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    One of my cooking fears are crepes! I’ve never made one, and I’m just afraid I’d totally ruin them! I LOVE making pancakes and such, but crepes seem so difficult!

  7. movesnmunchies May 29, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    I LOVE CINNAMON ROLLS! d be scared to make em!! also scared to make cashew cheeze.. and pies… epic fail! and im just too lazy..i rly hate cookingg!

  8. Ma Ma Megan May 29, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Yeast is my biggest kitchen food fear food too! I avoid using it whenever possible. But when I do use it, it never fails me. So it’s a silly fear ;)

  9. Tara May 29, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    I have a fear of yeast too. I’ve used it in pizza dough with success though! I want to make cinnamon rolls on my birthday. I will take that fear down!
    I also have a fear of anything that involves melting chocolate. I guess it’s because it’s so messy and you have to work quickly. I’ve done it before, but I try to avoid it.

  10. Jess May 29, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    Those look absolutely delicious!

  11. hippierunner May 29, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    I don’t really like cinnamon rolls either but those look scrumptious!! Btw you should be proud of me- I finally watched Tangled! “Brush and brush and brush and brush my hair!” :D

  12. Lee @ Fit Foodie Finds May 29, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I’m *drooling* over hurr.

  13. Katie May 30, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    These look awesome! U did a good job girl! Yummy!

  14. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 30, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    Cinnamon rolls are so delicious!! Yours look so good, girl!!!

  15. keepnthefaith May 30, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Well I hope you mastered your fear, because these look amazing!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE cinnamon rolls, which is why I will never make them lol My mom brought home a box of cinnabons when I was in highschool and since we only ate half she was going to throw them away. I told her I would take care of her and ate the rest (they were minis, but still. I got quite sick!) I find them so addicting and delicious!

  16. Laura May 30, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    I have yet to bake with yeast, but those cinnamon buns looks so good, I might have to try them out.
    Good luck with school!

  17. Lindsay@LivingLindsay May 30, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Did you eat the entire pan? Because I totally would have. I love cinnamon rolls – especially when they are hot and melty. Mmmm. Hang in there – summer is a hop, skip, and a jump away :)

  18. pawsitivelife May 30, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I have a huge fear of making bread…i think its such a valuable skill yet I suck so bad. The only cinamon rolls I made had a little dough boy on the box

  19. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 30, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Gah! They look delicious!!!

  20. runyogarepeat May 30, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I’m not a big cinnamon roll fan either, but I trust everything Mama Pea makes, so these are probably incredible!

  21. BrittFit May 31, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    I am so scared to bake…anything really. especially a cake with iceing and all!

Leave a Reply

