productive procrastination

31 May

If you follow me on twitter, you may have heard me whining about that paper I had to write.

It’s finally done. As is half of my packing. Why my packing, you ask? Because somehow, putting my life into boxes becomes infinitely more appealing when compared to reading yet another article about job satisfaction and productivity.

So here’s how my Sunday went…

I hopped in my roommate’s Twilight-mobile.

And got me to Home Depot to buy some big old cardboard boxes! They’re so difficult to carry…

Of course, just for kicks, I felt the need to go to the one 5 miles away rather than the one 1 mile down the street. Why, you ask?

Because this was just a block away. I treated myself to a special little hot-bar lunch, though their hot bar is honestly a little lacking in this particular location. I also neglected to photograph it, and may or may not have spent a solid hour perusing the aisles. Because obviously I didn’t need to get back and work or anything…

And then I began making a mess. I mean, cleaning.

Nope, definitely just a mess.

As of now, I have two big boxes packed full of clothes I don’t need. You know how it goes. And an embarrassing number of boxes filled with varieties of flour, sugar, flaxseed, and granola bars. I’m sorry. I have extra meal points and a convenience-store full of organic-type bars in a million flavors. I cannot help myself.

But here’s what my closet has been decimated to:

And here’s how my drawers look!

Not too shabby. 

My desk… still needs some help.

My other favorite form of productive procrastination? Running. I managed to run 6.1 miles on Saturday… It took me an hour (told you I was slow, sigh) but I did it! Given that I’m pretty damn out of shape (I’ve only been working out regularly for 2 weeks since stopping about 6 months ago) I was pretty pleased. One week til home!

So how was everyone else’s weekend? What’s your favorite way to productively procrastinate?

34 Responses to “productive procrastination”

  1. The Teenage Taste May 31, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I definitely think I would choose reading and writing over packing. Packing is my worst nightmare! At least you are packing for home, though. You must be so excited!

    Congrats on the 6.1 mile run! You’ve only been working out for 2 weeks and have already worked up to 6 miles. Amazing! Just make sure to stretch and take some rest days. You don’t want to hop back into it too soon and risk injury.

    Have a great week, Nicole! :-D

  2. Ma Ma Megan May 31, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    6.1 one miles is awesome I don’t care how slow – that’s hard! especially since you just started running again.

    I really hate packing haha. But you seem to be making progress. :D

  3. Rach @ This Italian Family May 31, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Haha! Sounds like a good weekend even if you did spend some time procrastinating. Have fun finishing packing up!

  4. Amanda @ Running with Spoons May 31, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    6.1 miles is DEF not out of shape! I don’t usually go more than 4. Great job on your run! :D

    Packing is like my worst nightmare… there’s just no no-stress way of doing it for the OCD part of my head, but at least you made some good progress… even if one box was completely devoted to different flours ;) (totally feeling you on that one)

  5. Katy (The Singing Runner) May 31, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    I hate packing. I really do….actually… I don’t hate packing… It’s the unpacking that’s the worse! ;)

    Good job on the run! :D

  6. Jenny May 31, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Girl 6 miles in one hour isn’t slow!! You’re making me look bad ;) And I hate packing, I think I hate unpacking even more lol I still have my weekend clothes in my luggage bag =/

  7. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 31, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    I like to bake when I procrastinate :) Awesome job on the run! I haven’t run that far in a while. Even thinking about running for an hour is exhausting right now!

  8. Stephanie May 31, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Productive procrastination is theeee best. I like to clean when I’m procrastinating. If my room is spotless then there’s definitely something else I need to do.

  9. megan @ the oatmeal diaries May 31, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    The Twilight mobile haha!! Exercise is definitely a great way to procrastinate. So is shopping, although I’m not sure how productive that is..? :)

  10. Anna June 1, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    I giggled at the Twilight mobile, ahaha. Sadly, my procrastination is rarely productive… I can kill hours and hours on the internet!

  11. Tara June 1, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    Is reading blogs considered productive procrastination? Probably not, but that’s what I do. I also bake and wash dishes, which I guess is productive! I’m just really bad at not procrastinating.

  12. Emily June 1, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    Congrats on your run girl!

  13. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 1, 2011 at 4:27 am #

    6 miles!?!?! That is awesome!!!

    Nice job on getting done that essay! Probably feels like such a weight lifted off your shoulders!

  14. BrittFit June 1, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    haha love the title of this post….YAY for getting out in one week!!!!!!!

  15. Jess June 1, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    You’ve definitely made progress :) Good luck on the desk ;)

  16. Sophia @ Raven Waves June 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Haha!! I absolutely love that you have a Twilight bumper sticker! I also procrastinate all the time. I always manage to make up errands for myself, like getting a car wash when I really don’t’ need one so I can put off papers and such.

  17. Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy June 1, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    When I was in school, I would find myself cleaning instead of doing homework. Of course, cleaning is the last thing I want to do now that I don’t have homework :).

  18. teeneatlive June 1, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Looks like a productive weekend! :D Mine was fun, got to see lots of family and eat lots of yummy mostly healthy food!

  19. runyogarepeat June 1, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I used to spend my meal points on health/organic food too – the best way to go! Way to go on the 6 miles after not working out for 6 months – I know that would be hard for me.

  20. Alyssa June 2, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    You go, girl!! Doesn’t cleaning feel SO good? And congrats on your 6 miles!

  21. ThE DiVa DiSh June 2, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I love whole foods! I could get hot bar everyday :) Sounds like a busy day and glad you finally finished your paper! Good luck with finals!!

  22. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 4, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I just caught up on your cinnamon roll post. WANT.

  23. Smore June 5, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Procrastinate? Blogging! and running. Although, I would rather be writing a paper than packing. Packing is probably my least favorite activity.

  24. Angie @ The Fitness Apple June 5, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    my favorite way to procrastinate is to sit on blogs hahaha

  25. greekyogurte June 6, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Ha I love that you think you are “out of shape”. That’s what I run 6 miles in IN SHAPE! I am very slow. My body was sadly just not built for running, and neither was my mind!

    I love cleaning. Don’t you just feel so much better after!?

  26. jenn @ peas and crayons June 6, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Fav procrastination = Pinterest, blog reading, and painting =)

    obvs reading YOUR blog is up there with the procrastination MUSTS! <3

  27. pawsitivelife June 6, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Im procrastinating right now…reading your blog…So much better than cleaning!

  28. Ellie@fitforthesoul June 7, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    haha yayy way to go Nicole! errr I think cleaning is the major culprit for me! :P But I’m getting better and trying to be on top of it (kind of) for when I’m married next year!

  29. Amanda @ the beauty notebooks June 7, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Doesn’t it feel good to go from clutter to clean, packed and ready to go after being faced with a crazy college room that needs to be packed!? I miss my room at college though! actually my room back at home is still filled with a bit of my clutter/boxes that need to be unpacked from college…better get on that, hehe.

    btw i’m following you on twitter now! : )

  30. Gen June 7, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Glad you had a good weekend! I’ve only been to Whole Foods once, but I LOVED it!!!!
    I mostly just relaxed with the family this past weekend….which was really nice!

  31. fashionfitnessfoodie June 9, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    I need to get to packng too – How much were boxes there!?
    I like to blog for the week when im being productive but procrastinating :)

  32. zoe June 9, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    ladylove, do NOT sigh at being a “slow” runner. six miles in one hour is fantastic! six miles period is fantastic! look at your accomplishment, not the amount of time it took to get there. also, if you just started working out regularly after six months off, maybe jumping right back into pounding out six miles isn’t such a great idea for your body? easing back into higher milage makes it easier on your body and makes injury less likely. anyway, good luck with everything!

  33. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) June 12, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I missed you and your blog so much during finals and SAT/ACT testing! I’m so glad to be back so I can read your fantastic posts and drool over your incredible cookie recipes! :D

    6.1 miles? That’s AWESOME!! I think an hour is great! That’s probably how long it would take me… maybe you and I can be running buddies! :)

    <3 <3 <3

  34. Pureglow*16 June 15, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Hey! My blog is fairly new and I’d love to add you to my blogroll!
    Consider adding me to yours?
    Let me know!!
    Thanks (:
    xo
    Em

    http://www.pureglowsixteen.blogspot.com

    find me on twitter @Marielxox16
    (:

Leave a Reply

