catch-up seven-up

13 Jun

Oh hi… I think I’m late to the party.

Let’s pretend I’m “fashionably late” instead of “two-weeks-gone-without-notice” and then I can make an awkward segue into a tag I just got for the “stylish blogger”. Along with a promise that I’ll, you know, pop in a bit more frequently (for some details on my prolonged absence, check the list-of-seven below!)

Thank you to the lovely Vivianne (isn’t that just the most beautiful name?!) for tagging me! :)

The rules of the Stylish Blogger award are as follows:
1. Share 7 things about yourself.
2. Tag some fellow bloggers.
3. Contact bloggers and let them know you tagged them.

In lieu of sharing 7 things about myself I’ll tell you 7 things about the last two weeks of my life that seem to have mysteriously disappeared.

1. Finals. I don’t have a picture to accompany this one because I was a little bit crazy trying to cram study in advance for all of them. I think I’ll just include a picture of one of my fuels-of-choice…

Not my fave flavor, but I mean, it’s still Kombucha!

2. Packing. I alluded to this earlier, but remember my desk? Eventually it became this…

And my bed? Became this…

And my name disappeared from the doorway as if I’d never been there.

I also enjoyed a last meal with my floormates in our dining hall… please excuse the quality!

This was a weird, overly sentimental transition for me. I’m not living in the dorms next year, though I will be living in campus housing of a different variety (more on that in number 3!). I definitely won’t miss having to make cookies in the dingy dorm kitchen though… here was my very last batch (made from a mix, because all my flour, etc., was packed away!)

While I’m excited about my living situation next year, I’m not going to have the same access to tons of different people at any time of day… it’s just a different chapter and I’m notoriously awful at letting things go (as much as I do long for variety!)

3. I visited my digs for next year! Here is my kitchen, most important thing, right?!

My school just built these new townhouses as an on-campus housing option. I’m not quite organized enough to figure out leases and houses and all that jazz, so this was perfect. I GET A KITCHEN. And…

a full sized bed! I have never had anything bigger than a twin! So that’ll be fun… lots of room to spread out. Or lots of space for pillows.

4. Finally came home last Wednesday after a whirlwind of a day… my last final, working for a storage company, checking out of my dorm room, and finding a ride to the airport. Then, of course, my flight was delayed 3 hours… which by the way is more than the amount of time I spent asleep the night prior to this excursion, and more than the plane ride actually takes!

It involved a lot of these crackers… they plied us with food, and I’m not capable of saying no to free food even if it’s processed junk. Sorry I’m not sorry ;)

5. The morning after I arrived (after sleeping a solid 11 hours… bliss!) the first thing I did was bake scones for my friends who were coming over later. I’m predictable, I know. I did try to branch out of the cookie-ness though… Does that count?

These were amazing. They were the pumpkin scones from Veganomicon… you can check parts of the book out here and get the recipe, but really you should just buy the entire book.

They were definitely softer than normal scones but they were so tender and pumpkin-y and the cranberries were PERFECT. Out of season? Perhaps. But that’s how I roll.

6. Gathering with my best friends!!! I didn’t take a picture of all of us, but we really mostly just chatted, ate entirely too many pita chips with hummus, and walked a few miles to Jamba Juice.

And made a delicious salad, featuring avocado & goat cheese & raspberries & balsamic vinegar.

7. Having some friends stay with me this weekend which involved the typical tourist-ing with a combination of home-friends and school-friends.

The school friends/guests

Pike Place is always where it’s at. Foodie post about Pike Place will be coming since I realized I took tons of pictures of the samples & crepes ;)

Also some gum-wall action…

Pretty Maya :)

And I got a blurry picture taken by my friend and felt the need to post it just so I don’t feel so bad about always posting pictures of everyone else. I’m clearly apprehensive about this photo-taking situation…

Cute.

Anyways, that’s what I’ve been up to! I also made some muffins and, well, cookies, and cake, and yeah. My oven’s getting a workout ;) Oh, and I went on one run but as I’m entertaining guests exercise isn’t my highest priority. We’ll see how that changes!

Sorry for the wordy-pictury-newsy-recipe-less post but I figured I’d do a little catch-up then get back to the usual. ;)

Oh and you are ALL tagged because I’m a little too lazy to tag people after that monstrously long post ;)

I realize I’ve asked this as a question a million times, but how is your life? Tell me what’s new! :

If you’re out of college, how did you transition from dorm to non-dorm life? Did you like living in a dorm? I loved the constant people but am excited to have a single where I can sleep whenever I please, and of course to have a kitchen… I suppose it’s just bittersweet, as are most things. :) 

13 Responses to “catch-up seven-up”

  1. sugarcoatedsisters June 13, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Your townhouse for next year looks so awesome- it’s beautiful. I had a lot of trouble living in a dorm last year because I didn’t have a kitchen and I rarely took advantage of the dorm facility’s kitchen. I’m just like you, I can’t wait to have a full kitchen again!

    Congrats on finishing finals by the way!

  2. hippierunner June 13, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    yay, I’m glad you posted! Missed your funniness!

    Gum wall?! That sounds both icky and awesome at the same time. ;)

    I lived in a dorm for one year- I’m such a granny and didn’t like having people come in and out of my room at all hours of the night. I’m a terribly light sleeper and wake up instantly if I hear anything. I definitely like having my own space! :)

  3. movesnmunchies June 14, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    WEHRE HAAAA U BEEEEN?!! anywho… i think non dorm life wud ROCK! dorms seem smelly and weird and communal bathrooms? no thanks.. but ill be stuck with that for this summer and 4 years of my life- woo!

  4. runyogarepeat June 14, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    Dorms are nice for the constant people, but it is SO NICE to have your own room, kitchen, etc. Plus, you have a bigger space for people to come over and hangout, and it’s great to have multiple rooms instead of the one dorm room.
    Those townhouses look amazing too! It’s nice to have everything there and not worry about rent, furniture, and other stuff.

  5. Tara June 14, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    AH I MISSED YOU! It’s so nice to hear from you again. Your room for next year looks awesome.. a full bed and a decent kitchen? Gotta love it.
    My life has been pretty boring.. just wrapping up school with finals. I’m leaving for Arizona this weekend though so that will be a nice little break from the norm!

  6. keepnthefaith June 14, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    Glad you are back!!! I never did the dorm life, since I am super NOT social and love my home lol Even now that I am married I would rather be at home then go out. Guess Im weird like that ;)

  7. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 14, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I’ve actually never had to live in a dorm, and I’m not sure that I’d like it too much. I’m one of those people that needs their space and needs their quiet time, or I tend to get overwhelmed. Being around people is nice, but I need a place where I can escape and get some “me time” too, and it doesn’t really sound like dorm life offers too much of that =X

  8. my0wneyes June 14, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I loved living in the dorms…meeting new people was the best part. My senior year I did move off campus to an apartment and that was great too…I still had friends that lived on campus so it made it easy to still mingle with other people. I hope you enjoy your new digs…are you sharing with anyone or is it just you?

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 14, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    That townhouse looks awesome! Thats the type of place I want to live in when I go to college next year! So spacious and nice! :)

  10. kaceytorres June 14, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Really lovely blog you have!
    Moving out of the dorms was happy-sad for me, as well! I loved constantly having people around and things to get distracted by:) Having a kitchen was a huge plus, as well as having the freedom to decorate a space that was all my own!

  11. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli June 15, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Ahhh! There’s too much I want to comment on! Welcome back chicka! I’m SO happy for you…school’s out, relaxing with friends, baking up a storm, AND some great looking digs for next year?! Yes! That kitchen is beautiful!!

    I love that the shot of your cleaned off desk shows the aftermath of a carrot attack! Haha!

    I lived in the dorms for a year and a half (summer semester before my official first year started). I liked it because I was closer to everything and for the summer semester, I was rooming with two of my BEST friends, but it was nice when I got an apartment the next year. I didn’t have the greatest roommate (a bit unreliable) and I definitely didn’t have a gorgeous kitchen (think olive green appliances and an oven that cooked unevenly) but it was all about the experience too! I learned a lot that year being on my own…I guess I was really on my own at the dorm too, but having the RA’s kinda made me feel like my parents were there, ya know?

    Ok, how weird am I for totally diggin that pic of the gum wall??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: delayed dorm edition. « Of Cookies & Carrots - June 14, 2011

    […] off… read about the updates on my life here! I’ve missed […]

  2. first things. [almond butter cookies] « Of Cookies & Carrots - September 18, 2011

    […] week has been one for firsts as I’ve been moving into my new place for the school […]

Leave a Reply

