WIAW: delayed dorm edition.

14 Jun

First off… read about the updates on my life here! I’ve missed y’all!

Secondly… apparently I’m famous! :-P

I was featured on WordPress’s Freshly Pressed on the front page (for this post). Trust me, I did NOT see this coming nor did I really have any idea how it worked, but I am absolutely thrilled and flattered! To any of my new readers… hello! :) If you’re looking for some information about me, there are a few “get to know you” type posts I can refer you to… like this one and this one.

Most weeks I like to participate in my dear friend Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday… and I accumulated some photos of my dorm food from when I was in school (not the greatest photos… all taken with the little point-and-shoot rather than my baby SLR). As I mentioned in my last post, I’ll be eating a lot less of dorm food next year so this is one of the last dining-hall posts you’ll see!

Breakfast

Oatmeal & fresh fruit. Not gonna lie, having delicious strawberries all year was a definite plus, and I don’t know if I’ll be able to justify the expense of buying strawberries all the time at home… Partly because if I buy a 2-pound thing of strawberries chances are it’ll be gone within 12 hours. Oops!

Lunch

I saw someone use the waffle iron to make a pressed sandwich and had to follow suit! I opted for gluten-free Udi’s bread just for kicks… a little dry, but pretty good! My sandwich had hummus and lots of veggies.

And of course more vegetables because I’m insatiable.

Snack (one of many)

PINKBERRY.

A highly necessary study break. Also loaded with fresh berries (I’m an addict okay?!) By the way their salted caramel is delicious, though I ended up opting for the plain kind :)

Dinner

I was super busy (last week of school!) and ended up with a frozen Amy’s meal.

I kind of loved this. I don’t know if it was weeks of not having anything vaguely ethnic, but I couldn’t even pick a favorite part of this dish! Obviously fresh is better but in a pinch… Amy’s is always a good option ;)

Come back tomorrow for a new recipe, at long, long last!

Eat anything good today? And new readers… chime in with any little ole thing about you, thanks for reading! :)

30 Responses to “WIAW: delayed dorm edition.”

  1. evafitness June 15, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    Congrats on being freshly pressed!! I loved your post about your little “big” brother :) I have 4 brothers and I knew at a young age that eventually, they would all be big brothers! However, I never knew my little sister would grow to be my big sister too!! I fondly remember dorm life and how much I miss even now the access to fresh already cut up fruit!

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. fashionfitnessfoodie June 15, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    Thats so awesome that you were featured!! Congrats :)

    Can’t wait for your recipe – i hope it has something to do with cookies

  3. movesnmunchies June 15, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    thats SO cool u were featured!! JEALOUS!!

  4. kabochafashion June 15, 2011 at 3:37 am #

    Heyy! I’m a new reader woohoo and I love your blog! You have yourself a new fan girly! :)
    Congrats on being featured – how exciting!!
    Soo jealous that you have Pinkberry in the US, really wish we had it here! I’d go crazy with the toppings!

  5. Tara June 15, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    Congrats!!! That’s so exciting! Did you get any warning of that or did you just notice it when you signed on?
    The only thing I’ve eaten today is cookies and a yogurt mess for breakfast. They were healthy cookies though, so it’s all good! Well, I probably would’ve eaten them even if they weren’t…

  6. BrittFit June 15, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    wooooh! I saw that on wordpress congrats!! lately I’ve been into chaboni :)

  7. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) June 15, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    I’ve missed you!!

    That’s awesome that you were featured! Congratulations – you definitely deserve it!! :)

    Everything looks delicious! That waffles sandwich looks really good. I need to try that sometime!

    Well I haven’t eating anything yet (breakfast coming soon!), but I’m sure that my banana with PB will end up being one of my favorite foods today. ;)

    Can’t wait for the recipe! Have an awesome rest of the week! Glad you’re doing well!!

    <3 <3 <3

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 15, 2011 at 5:59 am #

    Congrats on getting featured!!! Thats so awesome!

    And now I really want to some ethnic food! That Amy’s dish doesn’t look too bad!

  9. keepnthefaith June 15, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Ive never had an Amys meal!! And its been like 2 weeks since Ive last had froyo. Your killing me here girl!! Im trying to stay away from it since I get totally addicted in the summer and MUST have it several times a week. NOT good for my wallet! lol

  10. Jess June 15, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    That Amy’s meal looks good!! I’ve been LOVING all the fresh fruits of summer :D

  11. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons June 15, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    The Amy’s dish is one of my favs from them — its just got amazing flavor for a boxed meal! =) I agree that having mucho fruit and even veg at your disposal for dorm food options is suuuch a luxury! When i moved off campus I def fell into a ramen rut in the beginning waiting for my scholarship money to finally kick in and feed me! =) haha

    Happy WIAW and congrats on your top news worthiness on WP! whoohoo! that’s my girl!

  12. IHeartVegetables June 15, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Congrats on being featured!!! And I’m really impressed with your dorm food!!! I never lived in the dorms, but the food I made at my little apartment was always super quick and simple. I ate wayyyy too much rice-a-roni ;)

  13. Stefanie @TheNewHealthy June 15, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    Yay for being featured on Freshly Pressed – how exciting!! I think you’re doing pretty fab for dorm food! Waffle iron sandwich? Yes! :)

  14. Errign June 15, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Congrats on being featured. That’s awesome.

    I am jealous of your pinkberry and your Amy’s frozen meal. Normally, I’m not a big fan of frozen meals, but most of the Amy’s ones are delicious!

  15. cinnamonalicious June 15, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    So cool! you’re famoussss! :P
    Your food looks delicious, and I’m SO jealous of pinkberry! Froyo is so hard to find here!

  16. The Teenage Taste June 15, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Congrats on being featured on the “Freshly Pressed.” You deserve it, Nicole!

  17. mindrunningwild June 15, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    um YES Amy’s is always a good option!! I grew up on that stuff!
    How’d ya get featured? that’s pretty cool. and you totally deserve it.
    I wish I’d thought of using the waffle iron for a sandwich press. Such a good idea!!
    i was reading just your last post and I love those fancy new townhouses!! I’m impressed and jealous as well!!

  18. Alaina Rose @ Sweetness Of Life June 15, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Aww that’s awesome that you were featured! How cool! Beautiful looking food :-) I’ve never tried any of Amy’s Frozen Indian food before but I’ve never been disappointed with any of Amy’s products! Such a good option when you have little time.

  19. Stephanie June 15, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I love Amy’s! Their black bean enchiladas are SO good.

  20. Jenny June 15, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    How great that you were freshly pressed, super exciting girl! :D loving those eats. Oats and strawberries are perfect together

  21. Serena June 15, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    I have to say, I love Amy’s meals. They’re my go-to meals for when I’m super super busy with no access to a real oven/ stove (aka school).

    • Serena June 15, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      By the way – pressing bread in a waffle press? Genius!

  22. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) June 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    That’s such a good idea to use a waffle iron for a sandwich press! I have a waffle iron but I never use it. It takes up a ton of space!

  23. pawsitivelife June 15, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    CONGRATS on freshly pressed!! It was nutty when I was featured, you deserve it!!!AS always love your blog

  24. Lee Lee June 15, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    You were already famous in my mind :) Congrats on the recognition though! WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

  25. kirstin June 15, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I lived in on campus apartment style living this year- almost exactly like the place you’re living in next year and loved it! I lived with 3 other girls, and we all shared the kitchen, bathroom and common room. It was great living with three friends- a little different and something to get used to, but I think i actually preferred this to dorm style living. Are you living with other girls?

  26. teeneatlive June 15, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    I am loving fresh berries too-they are PERFECT right now!

  27. Katy (The Singing Runner) June 15, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Yay! Congrats on Freshly Pressed! How cool!!! :D

  28. aubrey @ italktofood June 16, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    i’ve always wanted to try the amy’s frozen dinners. I must actually try it. I’ve heard a ton about how great they are. Looks good!

  29. greekyogurte June 16, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Congratz on being featured!! That’s so great! (: So glad you are back blogging girlie <3

    Also, I LOVE FROYO. I haven't had it since I left school because there isn't anywhere within 30 minutes of me that sells it. Can you believe that?!

    I wish I was going to have a kitchen like you next year. I'm in the dorms again, so I will have dorm food pictures taken by my point and shoot. *sigh* Maybe a new camera & kitchen next year!

    Looks like yummy eats (:

Leave a Reply

