daddy of mine.

19 Jun

My daddy and I have quite a history. He’s put up with a lot of sh!t from me.

No, literally. As the story goes, when I was around 6 months old he was taking care of me and ran out of diapers, and was holding me in is big old hands and… well, I had to go! (Why I am posting this story on the world wide web is totally beyond me).

At least I was adorable…

Since then, he has continued to put up with quite a lot. From my… rather rough… teenage years to my affinity for bad music, he just sits through it all… Perhaps not without complaint (poor Bruno Mars is the brunt of 90% of the jokes in our household, particularly for “Grenade”, and let’s not even start on Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift), but still.

The fam in Italy… yes, my dad is large and intimidating.

Though we still butt heads from time to time (as is wont to happen when you combine two stubborn people), I know whenever I need him he’ll be there. He’s my biggest cheerleader and supporter of my newfound interest in running; we exchanged numerous disgustingly-long e-mails over the course of last quarter in an effort to design a training plan for my half-marathon. On one night in particular he arrived at home tired from a day of biking and partying and still stayed up an extra half-hour to write me an epically long response about every minute detail I was obsessing over (what can I say, babbling is genetic).

He and my “little” brother did the STP last year, and *I* was the cheerleader… 

I know if I need someone to wake up early with me on vacation and go on a run, he’ll be there. I know on days when I feel fat and ugly he’ll be there to tell me I’m crazy and, of course, beautiful (whether or not I believe it). I know when I need to get from point A to point B he’ll lead me the right way… which my mom and I are both a little questionable at.

And, of course, whenever I have a spider in my bathroom or a 49.5 pound suitcase to carry, he’s my man.

The happy couple in Sorrento last year. :)

For all that he drives me crazy making fun of me for, well, everything, I know I’ve inherited some of my incredible wit (read: penchant for bad jokes) from him. If not simply a dry, sarcastic sense of humor and a thicker skin. And for all the times I’ve had to hide my chocolate chips in my sock drawer to keep him from eating them, I know there have been many times that he’s helped me polish off a batch of cookies or muffins (tough job, but someone’s got to do it). For all that he scares the living daylights out of almost all of my potential suitors (even the ones that measure up to his 6’4″ height), I know he’s also good for keeping away the creepers. And for every annoyance he may have caused me, I know I’ve done at least a million times more.

So thank you, dad, for putting up with crap of various forms for the past 20 years.

Excuse the fact that I look like a zombie… this was a very early-morning train.

And happy fathers day. :)

What has your dad put up with?

13 Responses to “daddy of mine.”

  1. Jess June 19, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    AWWW! My dad put up with me through thick and thin, amongst the depths of an eating disorder, and when I can be a bit strong willed ;) Bless his soul!! :D Love him to death.

    ADORABLE post!!

  2. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 19, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Rofl oh my word. That first story… :lol:… love you girlie :D

    My dad put up with a lot of my crap throughout the years. From having to fight off all the losers I dated, to dealing with me through my I’m-too-smart for everyone teenage years, he’s always been there with unconditional love. And he was definitely my rock when I struggled the most with my ED. Awwr. Dads are fantastic. Happy Father’s Day to yours!

  3. kaceytorres June 19, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    What a perfect post for Fathers Day! All dads with daughters need special recognition! My dad put up with having four girls and my mom around all the time, teaching me how to drive a stick-shift and helping me with my kitchen remodel! I <3 dads!

  4. Lauren June 19, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Such a cute tribute to your dad! My dad has had to put up with not one but two daughters. Enough said, right?

  5. thequirkykitchen June 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    awwwww…….this is such a lovely post! :-)

  6. theflourishingfoodie June 19, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Love this post! So good to take a day to honor our fathers and all the incredible things they do for us :)

  7. Tara June 19, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Aww this post is so cute!! I’m loving all the Father’s Day love in the blogworld today.
    My dad has put up with my super sassiness in the mornings and evenings — the times I usually see him, and coming to all my races. And my crazy habits and culinary adventures. But he’s super loving and accepting of my quirks!

  8. Kristie June 20, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Aw, this is the sweetest. Your dad sounds like a wonderful guy. Dads just know how to treat their girls right, don’t they. Love Dads!

  9. Lindsay@LivingLindsay June 20, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Awe, what a sweet post – I’m sure your Dad was so proud to read this :) My Dad had to put up with me and my very poor money management skills – he bailed me out several times when the credit cards got a little crazy. Oops. Dads are the best :)

  10. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) June 20, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Soooo sweet! My dad has had to put up with more than one man should ever have to put up with. I blame my brother :) The first time I went to Europe, my bank shut down my credit card because they didn’t realize I was abroad, so my dad had to wire me money to pay for my hostel until my bank activated my card again. I have never been so thankful for anything in my life!

  11. greekyogurte June 20, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Awwww. This is a lovely post, N. So very sweet<3

  12. Rach @ This Italian Family June 20, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Aww happy father’s day to your dad! Sounds like he has put up a lot from you, but I’m sure that he has enjoyed it all! Well… okay… maybe not the poop. But at least I’m sure he thinks it’s worth it to have you as a daughter ’cause you’re pretty swell! :)

  13. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli June 23, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Aww, what a great post! You and your dad have such a great relationship! My dad had to put up with my “rebel without a cause” teenage years, but I’d have to say since then, I haven’t given him much grief. :) I used to feel bad for calling him every time I needed something fixed or had a DIY question, but then my mom told me one day that I should see his face light up when I call! Guess dad’s just always want to be that knight in shining armor, huh? Your dad sounds JUST like that kind of guy!

Leave a Reply

