wordful [what-i-ate] wednesday

21 Jun

It’s (basically) time for WIAW! I always post on Tuesday. And let’s be honest this is what I ate over a week ago. And now that I’m writing it up I’ve realized I did not adequately photograph this day, but that’s okay. I’m all about them words. :) (Jason Mraz, anyone?)


Breakfast

This was while my guests were still in town. Actually, it was the day I made those banana-almond muffins.

But before I made those, there was french toast for me (I was up early…)

This is the easiest, most basic french toast ever. Just a couple pieces of bread that I let sit out of the package overnight, dipped in 1/3 cup egg beaters + a couple tablespoons milk + a couple dashes cinnamon & sugar. Cooked in a nonstick pan. Perfection.

Yayyy maple syrup.

Lunch

Not pictured… we went to visit my Microsoft & ate lunch there. I had a massive salad as I am going through serious salad-bar withdrawals.

We also visited a very tall building with a lovely view of Bellevue & Seattle across the lake.

However, it was also incredibly windy. Witness below.

Also, this sign spoke to me… because I am sort of a decrepit old lady about half the time, and my friends make fun of me.

And here’s the three of us patiently waiting to be picked up.

Dinner

I had delicious Thai take out with all of my best girl friends. This also wasn’t pictured. I fail, I’m sorry!

Dessert

Okay, don’t burn me at the stake, but I made cake. From a mix. Angel Food Cake, to be exact.

It’s one my goals in life to bake an Angel Food Cake from scratch but this mix was actually pretty good. Not entirely sure how (nor am I sure that I want to know) but the batter was extremely fluffy and beat-able. Yay chemistry?

This was amazing when paired with heated frozen berries and just a smidge of vanilla ice cream. I’m just sayin’.

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten recently?

Have you ever made angel food cake?? Or do you have a favorite cake mix? 

28 Responses to “wordful [what-i-ate] wednesday”

  1. Mama Pea June 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    That chiropractor sign cracks me up too…only because I have a horrible back and well, you know what my last name is…

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots June 21, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      I definitely recognized your last name and thought ’twas hilarious at the time too ;) but I didn’t want to make YOU feel old and decrepit like ME ;)
      <3
      n

  2. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life) June 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Yum! I love eating fruit with angel food cake. It’s so light and fluffy.
    The best thing I’ve eaten recently? Costco sells some delicious sorbet that comes in actual fruit shells (like in a coconut shell, orange peel, etc.) It’s really unique and amazingly yummy!

  3. sugarcoatedsisters June 21, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I’ve been having a total salad bar withdrawal also! I hated college food, but now I miss the endless mountains of salad I could create…

  4. Tara June 21, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I love angel food cake, but I’ve only ever used a prebaked cake or a boxed mix. I really want to try making my own sometime. I also want to try it grilled since I’ve seen that all over food magazines lately.
    The chiropractor picture made me laugh. My parents are always pointing out every foot doctor and podiatrist to me.

  5. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons June 21, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    YOU DO NOT FAIL! =) I always leave a lil something something out. usually water, but sometimes an entire meal ! <3 Happy WIAW my wind-blown bff =) haha

  6. katie June 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    ahhhhhh youve got me wanting some french toast!!

  7. thequirkykitchen June 22, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    i’ll second that katie! you look so pretty!

  8. Christine (Merf) June 22, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    Cake from a box? Unsubscribe! ;-)

    Giada (Giada at Home) made an angel food cake recently and it looked so easy and delicious. I want to try it now!

  9. marykmhui June 22, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    The french toast looks great, I must try making some of that! I love your posts, and love that you take time to enjoy food. Keep it up!

  10. keepnthefaith June 22, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Your gorgeous love :)
    And let me jusst say I have been CRAVING french toast!! And Im not sure why!! Its just been something I have been wanting so so badly. It looks delicious!

  11. IHeartVegetables June 22, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    Oh my gosh those banana almond muffins look AMAZING!!! Banana + almond are like two of my favorite things. I’d probably add chocolate chips, just for extra favorite-ness. hehe

  12. Lauren June 22, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    “Over numbers, enencombered numbered words” — love Jason Mraz! Who needs pictures of meals when there’s muffins and cake to look at?

  13. bsbeital June 22, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    oh yahhh wow i love cake and yes i did something wonderful lovely pictures.
    thank you.

  14. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 22, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Angel food cake is delish! Especially with homemade whip cream and strawberries!!!

  15. forgottenbeast June 22, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I’ve never made angel food cake, but I’m a huge fan. Your simple french toast sounds/looks so good! I might have to leave some bread out for tomorrow morning breakfast

  16. Tiff June 22, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I’ve never made angel food cake. I guess the only cake I’ve mad is confetti, but that’s a fav of mine. Can you tell I’m more of a pie/cobbler girl? :)

  17. mindrunningwild June 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    ooh what were you doing at Microsoft?? You’re too cute, by the way. I need french toast in my life pretty soon. That’s got me craving some! Best thing I’ve eaten lately? Banana and nut butter. A new recently conquered fear food combo that takes the cake! I’ve done Angel food cake from scratch before, it’s kinda fun. my sister calls it “angel fruit cake”. cute.

  18. Jess June 22, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    You are gorgeous, girl!!

    Mmm, lovin’ all the baked goodness!!

  19. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 22, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Aww girl you look SO gorgeous! And I love the wind-swept look ;)

    Best thing I’ve eaten recently is a fancy tiramisu cupcake that I shared with my dad on Father’s Day. Aaaand I don’t believe I’ve ever made angel food cake… I’m more of a chocolate girl :D

  20. ericascime June 22, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I can’t live without Angel Food cake from the box. (Ok, I may be over exaggerating, but you get it, right?) It looks even better with the berries! By the way, how do you heat your berries? In the microwave? Whenever I try to do that they get all burnt and weird!

    • Nicole @ Of Cookies & Carrots June 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

      Mine are frozen and I’ve never had a problem with them getting burnt in the microwave! From fresh… Well, I’ve never tried, but maybe over really low heat on the stove? Or put them in a small pot in a larger pot filled with water on the stove? Or just pop ’em in the oven, but that’s kind of more work ;)

  21. Smore June 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    best thing recently? I always look forward to my peanut butter oats in the morning! Angel food cake out of the box is totally fine as long as it tastes good. Although, one made from scratch would be amazing.

  22. Lee June 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I love that photo of your hair whippin’ in the wind! *rawr* okay, I’m not creepy at all…

  23. Kristen @ The Red Velvet Life June 22, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Your french toast and angel food cake look delicious! I think we’ve all done box mixes. Come to think of it, the only way I know angel food cake is the store-bought stuff, so you’re doing much better than me! :) Best thing recently would have to be peanut butter & co. cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter. DELISH with my morning cereal. :) Neveryoumind the added sugar ;-)

  24. Rach @ This Italian Family June 22, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Hehehe… the windy pic makes me laugh! ;) Looks like delicious eats, girl!

  25. Hannah @ Sweetly Fresh June 23, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    I’ve never made angel food cake from scratch, but angel food is by far my favorite kind of cake-from-a-box. Made from scratch would be amazing though — hopefully less chewy and more airy ;) The best thing I’ve eaten recently was breakfast (really, I’m in love with all breakfast foods) of vanilla oats topped with coconut butter and sliced peaches.

  26. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli June 23, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    LOVE your outfit girlie! That coat is the cutest! I’ve always wanted to bake an angel food cake from scratch…and a cheesecake! One day, one day!

Leave a Reply

