foodie & the chocolate factory

22 Jun

Or: How we took on Fremont.

When my guests were here last week we made a trip to a very special part of Seattle… Fremont. If you’ve never been there, you really should go. It’s a little zany, kinda hippie, and just generally adorable. Here are some snapshots of our day, which most notably included a visit to a real, live, bean-to-bar chocolate factory.

The adventure started right outside our car with weird hieroglyphic-type drawings on the wall… Apparently there was some miscommunication regarding whether we were posing like them or pretending to carve them. Cue me looking ridiculous.

As we walked along we almost instantly stopped into PCC to get lunch. PCC is probably my favorite place ever; it’s the local and possibly slightly cheaper version of Whole Foods. I didn’t snap a pic, but I DID get some pictures with the super-cute puppy outside…

No I’m not making out with the dog

Yes my nails are all different colors, and yes I love Zevia.

We of course had to stop at the Fremont Troll. I got to thinking about it and I’m honestly not sure if I’d ever seen it in person before. Why yes, I have lived in the Seattle area for 20 years…

My friend Tiffany was also interviewed on the news about the graffiti on the poor Troll… so I’m famous by association?

After meandering around a bit and trying to go to a cheese shop that was converted into a skate shop (disappointing, I know) we finally wound back up at Theo chocolate factory for our afternoon tour.

Theo, short for theobroma cacao (aka cocoa plants) and not the name of the owner, specializes in delicious, organic, free-trade chocolates.

The tour itself was super fun. I wish I hadn’t been so brain-dead and had been able to retain some of the information, but it was an experience nonetheless… an experience quite enriched by the stunning headgear.

And oh, the vats of cocoa beans. Eventually to be hulled and ground to nibs. I love cocoa nibs. Plain, 100% chocolate? Yes, please.

Poor worker unknowingly subjected to my photographic whims… There were lots of machines but I forget what they all do, it was hot in there & I was just in awe…

Also, look at how much sugar they have. Can you imagine what I could BAKE with that much sugar?!?

Even so, the “confections” they make by hand on-site are not exactly anything I would turn my nose up at.

I opted for the most adventurous of the three: salted & chili-peppered caramel. It was pretty good though I really do prefer chocolate.

Luckily for me there were ample opportunities to sample, well, every single kind of chocolate you can possibly imagine in the main foyer. My favorite was probably the 70% dark chocolate, or the dark with orange, or with chili. (Sneak preview: There may or may not be Theo chocolates involved in a giveaway I’ll prob announce next week… ;) ).

Overall, it was a really fun experience. It was also really cool to see a company that seems really committed to sustainable and ethical practices putting their dreams into action. And while my friends were a bit chocolate-d out, it was kind of awesome to be able to sample so many different kinds!

Have you ever visited a chocolate factory? What’s your fave kind of chocolate? :)

19 Responses to “foodie & the chocolate factory”

  1. Jess June 22, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I’ve never visited a chocolate factory–looks SO neat!! I LOVE dark chocolate, followed by white chocolate then milk :)

  2. Sara June 22, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Yay! I’m so glad you got to go and that you were finally reunited with the glorious PCC! (one of the things I miss most, embarrassing as it is)
    And I’ve finally found someone who shares my love of Zevia!

  3. Tara June 22, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    So if I ever come to seattle you are going to be my tour guide and take me here, okay? Yes. Absolutely necessary. The best chocolate I have ever had is Maison du Chocolat which is so freaking expensive, but my Dad got it as a company gift and let me have it. It was life changing.

  4. Stefanie June 23, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    That looks like fun. It would be a great experience to visit a chocolate factory. Dark chocolate is my favorite. There is something about the bitterness of the chocolate that I like.

  5. cinnamonalicious June 23, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    OMG i’ve never visited one but I’d LOVE to!! My fave choc is any kinda of dark chocolate, although i don’t discriminate ;) haha!

  6. pawsitivelife June 23, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Soooo much better than the beer tour my BF drags me too. Im jealous!

  7. TL June 23, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    You are famous by association. I gloated about being in the news for several days. :) Still gloating. HAHAHA I’m still sick of chocolate even though I’m sitting here eating a Bounty bar… basically a Mounds made in Saudi Arabia. It’s so bomb.

  8. The Teenage Taste June 23, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    AHHH! I am totally jealous of your chocolate making tour! The chocolate looks fabulous! :-D

  9. thequirkykitchen June 23, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    cool! i went to a chocolate museum in Brussels but i’d love to go to Cadbury’s World one day :-)

  10. Carlyn June 23, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    OMG it looks like you were in Carlyn paradise!!! You have NO IDEA how much I lovvee chocolate haha. I think going into any type of food factory would be interesting for me because I’m going to be a Food Science major. There’s no such thing as all chocolate-d out for me (:

  11. Katy (The Singing Runner) June 23, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Looks like fun! I’ve actually been to a (small) chocolate factory in St. Augustine, FL! :)

  12. Ellie@fitforthesoul June 23, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    haha woww that’s a pretty cool opportunity! Never thought of anyone actually visiting a real factory–not like Charlie~ :D that puppy is soooo adorable…like a stuffed animal

  13. Ari@ThE DiVa DiSh June 23, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    holy dangerous :) I don’t think I could visit a chocolate factory without devouring every single bit of chocolate that came in my way ;)
    Sounds like so much fun!
    And I love different colored nails!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate June 23, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    SO JEALOUS. I bet the samples were awesome ;)

  15. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) June 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    My parents went there the last time they visited Seattle! They brought home lots of goodies :)

  16. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli June 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    What an experience! I’m not even what you would call a chocolate “lover” but I would love to explore a place like that! And I could never turn down a free chocolate sample! ;)

  17. gillianwallisbrett June 23, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Beautiful crackers :)
    YUM! that sounds like an amazing tour.
    I tried some of their chocolate at the SF green festival and it’s amazing. I bought the coconut curry flavor and fell in deep love with it. I can only find that one online though :(

  18. greekyogurte June 26, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Love all the pictures! I love puppies so much… so cute!

    And I always paint my nails different colors because I can’t ever pick just one color!

  19. Brittany July 7, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I am obsessed with this brand of chocolate!! I want to go tour the place so bad. I talked with some people at VEGFEST this year about doing it..and now after seeing these picture I REALLY want to!

Leave a Reply

