tgif: monkey edition.

8 Apr

Firstly: If my face looked kind of big in those photos yesterday it’s probably because you guys compliment me too much and it’s going to my head. ;)

Secondly: Thank GOODNESS it’s Friday. Granted, I still have a neuro test to study for alllll weekend, but at least I won’t have classes.

Anyways, about that cookie dough

I stumbled upon this recipe for peanut butter-banana-chocolate chunk cookies. And let’s be honest my favorite flavor combination in the world is peanut butter + bananas + chocolate (I may be part monkey). Or perhaps cinnamon & chocolate. Or coffee & chocolate (side note: I just gave up caffeine and it’s killing me). I think I see a theme…

Made according to the original recipe, these are quite healthy. I modified them only slightly and added a little bit of ground flax to make sure it held together, as well as a couple of tablespoons of flour to make them a little denser. If you use bitter chocolate instead of regular chocolate chips, they’re sugar free; without the flour and with gluten-free oats, they’re pretty easily gluten-free.

Innards. Yum.

I also went ahead and continued with my dough-ball obsession and tried to make them more ball-like. To half of my half-batch, I added some powdered sugar and peanut flour to further enhance the peanuttiness and to make it a little denser. It sort of worked, but not quite how I wanted it. Meaning I will probably tweak this recipe further, but it was pretty good anyways so I’m sharing. :)

Healthy Monkey Cookies
Makes ~30
Adapted from here.

3 large, very ripe bananas
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tablespoon ground flaxseed
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups oatmeal
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup powdered sugar (optional)*
1/2 cup peanut flour (optional)*
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 – 1 cup chopped dark chocolate or chocolate chips

* Totally optional, creates a denser but also less healthy cookie.

Preheat oven to 350F.
In a large bowl mash the bananas with the peanut butter, oil and vanilla. Mix in flaxseeds and let sit for a few minutes (I even microwaved this a little, mostly because my bananas were frozen…). In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients (except chocolate chips). Mix dry into wet and stir until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Bake for 11-13 minutes or until just set.

Share with your favorite monkey. Or someone whose genetic make-up is more than 95% monkey.

Yep, I’m talking to you.

What’s your favorite flavor combination?

Do you drink coffee/caffeine regularly? I am absolutely dying. I want it sooo bad… I think it’s mostly the taste, but my headache says otherwise… I refuse to admit my addiction. Sigh.

20 Responses to “tgif: monkey edition.”

  1. Jess@HealthyExposures April 8, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    hehe…healthy monkey cookies. love the name. and yes, i have a bit of a banana obsession. they’re probably the one thing that i’ll make that extra out-of-the-way trip to the grocery store for. anything else i can go a day or two without. but bananas? not gonna happen.
    i drink coffee regularly! not to the extreme…but a cup or two in the morning, and maybe a cup of decaf after dinner :]

  2. Ma Ma Megan April 8, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Ooh those cookies look yummy!
    I rarely have coffee, if I do it’s in my oats but most of the time I don’t drink it because it makes me so jittery! I drink tons of green tea though and I have no side effects with that.

  3. kat April 8, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I seriously drink SO much coffee its a little ridiculous. I only try and drink 1 a day, but I just love the taste so much that I can’t help but drink more :)

  4. Mandi April 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Bananas, peanut butter, and chocolate? Count me in. Those seriously look so delicious.
    Although I don’t drink coffee anymore, I used to all the time. But then I got tired of being dependent on it and getting caffeine withdrawals if I didn’t have my morning cup. Headaches are not my thing.

  5. runyogarepeat April 8, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    I love the name of these cookies! I have a coffee addiction, but I do limit myself to one cup in the morning, otherwise I get too jittery and feel sick. I just really enjoy the taste, and iced coffee makes my mornings amazing.

  6. Ellie April 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    haha you’re so cute nicole!! you monkey you. ;) I definitely love tea and coffee and love coffee for its effect and taste. I used to dislike the taste–don’t know what happened! uhh help?

  7. Tara April 8, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    I probably drink wayyyy too much caffeine. I try not to have it after 3 though, otherwise I’m up really late.
    I love almost any combination of chocolate and fruit. I also love pistachio, strawberry, and cinnamon, which is kind of random but really good!

  8. movesnmunchies April 9, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    LOVEEEEEE THAT COMBO!!! its probs my fav too.. which is why my fav night snack is a nanner with pb and choc chips!

  9. Stephanie April 9, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    There are worse animals to be than monkeys! Peanut butter+banana+chocolate = delicious. I love the look and the sound of your cookies!

  10. Mandiee April 9, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I love pb & banana things that are called “monkey”. I always imagine a cute little monkey eating a banana and smiling. It makes me laugh every time. Anyway, your cookies look really good. I’m sure they would be monkey friendly ;)

    Have a lovely day!

  11. Jenny April 9, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Now I’m thinking I might be part monkey too lol I can’t go one day without the usual banana, pb, chocolate combo :) Those cookies look delicious!

  12. Molly April 10, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    A coffee addict (for the taste!) myself, I’ve recently decided to try to ween myself off the caffeinated part to avoid those headachey mornings/days when coffee doesn’t happen. Instead of going cold turkey, though, I’ve been making my coffee with a ratio skewed more and more toward decaf, so that eventually I’ll be be drinking pure decaf every morning, just for the flava!

  13. kissmybroccoli April 10, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Mmm! Does the banana flavor come through pretty well? I’ve made a PB, banana, chocolate chip quick bread before that just ended up tasting like PB and chocolate…which tasted great but I really wanted to taste banana too!

    I have one cup of 1/2 caf in the morning, but I used to be a total caffeine junkie! There’s a coffee shop in the hospital where I work and the girl that used to work there would always give me the hook-up on “discounted” drinks and espresso shots. One day, all on my own (who am I kidding…after she got into nursing school and left the coffee shop) I slowly started weening myself off the black “juice.” It’s tough, but I promise if you hang in there, the headaches will get better!

  14. blog by tina April 11, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    i think i love you

  15. Lauren April 20, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Yum! These look SO good! Monkey cookies. The bf would love them on the name alone!

  16. pushupswithpolish May 6, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    OMG i am drooling over all your recipes! i’m going to the store so i can make these right NOW. not kidding. can’t wait to share them on my site!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday’s Highlights | kissmybroccoli - April 23, 2011

    […] And finally, one of the brightest highlights…Nicole’s Healthy Monkey Cookies! […]

  2. A Three Hour Affair « Love Eat Run - April 25, 2011

    […] can't wait to make them again and to play around with the ingredients some.  I found the recipe on Of Cookies & Carrots blog but will repost my exact ingredients/recipe […]

  3. Featured Food Friday: Bananas! « XC Foodie - June 3, 2011

    […] also has a popular recipe for  PB Banana Oatmeal Cookies, aka Healthy Monkey […]

  4. bananas » Blog Archive » Featured Food Friday: Bananas! « XC Foodie - June 3, 2011

    […] also has a renouned recipe for  PB Banana Oatmeal Cookies, aka Healthy Monkey […]

Leave a comment