puppy love [peanut butter “dog biscuits”]

14 May

After getting so many compliments on my lovely little dogs, I thought I may as well introduce them, & share their favorite treat (scroll to bottom if you want to skip the babbling and head to a super-easy treat recipe!).

First: Sandy the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Sandy, my regal Cavalier

Sandy was my first furbaby. I spent most of 4th and 5th grade year actively campaigning for a dog… I originally was obsessed with wanted a West Highland White Terrier, but my obsession interest ended up moving towards the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. I still remember the excitement of stepping into the breeder’s house to pick him up; he was 6 months old and already named.

Eight years later, he’s still going strong. Occasionally a somewhat lazy and grumpy old man, but regal and gorgeous all the same. And while he’s possibly a little “fluffier” than he ought to be, that just means more to cuddle with. ;)

Lily the Mini Poodle

Lily is my lovely little mini-poodle. I hate telling people I have a mini, because they automatically assume she’s some snappy, yippy little thing. Couldn’t be further from the truth! She’s possibly the sweetest dog ever, and even my friends who are cat people love her… She’s basically a real, live, warm, fuzzy teddy bear.

When we got her, she was 8 weeks old and could fit cupped in my hands. It was fairly amusing to see Sandy torment her by jumping on the couch with toys where she couldn’t reach them. Now she’s ridiculously good at jumping… to the point that she’s scaled baby fences before. I’m pretty sure she’s part teddy-bear, part rabbit, part sheep, and then part dog. Probably in that order.

And she sleeps in goofy places. Like in the nightstand in hotel rooms. Silly rabbit…

When I’m at home, I always make them a ginormous batch of dog treats. While I can’t exactly say if these are their favorite, they definitely eat them without any complaints. I mean, they’re part of my family, so they’re kind of obsessed with peanut butter (seriously, they sit there pleadingly every morning when my mom makes her peanut butter sandwich).

Incidentally, these are made with very few, very human ingredients. And while they aren’t exceptionally flavorful (which might be remedied with the addition of salt), they’re really crisp, crunchy, and delicious. And every time I make them, I have to fight to make sure some make it past my mom and into the dog treat jar.

Peanut Butter Dog Treats
from here

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup natural peanut butter
1 cup milk (I haven’t tried this with non-dairy milk, can dogs have almond milk?!)

Preheat oven to 385 degrees and lightly grease a cookie sheet.

Mix together milk and peanut butter until well combined. In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add dry to wet and mix well; it will start getting gummy the longer you use it, but they’ll turn out fine. Roll out onto parchment paper about 1/4 inch thick, and cut with cookie cutters (or into strips, if you’re lazy)

Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned. To get perfectly even crispness, you can even try to flip them over once while baking, but it’s not really necessary. Dogs aren’t picky, after all…

(And neither is my mother).

Gratuitous video of Lily playing in the snow… please excuse the awkward audio and atrocious filming.

Tell me about your fur-friends. :)

32 Responses to “puppy love [peanut butter “dog biscuits”]”

  1. Jenny May 14, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    How cute, I love how you made little doggy treats! Sandy and Lily are just adorabld :D

  2. keepnthefaith May 14, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    They are beautiful!! Thx for introducing us :) I think you should show us more pics of them more often. As for me, I’m getting up right now to make these cookies for my little bear!! She’s been so good (aside from hiding under the couch!!) And she seriously deserves some homemamde treats. Thx for the recipe love :) ill let you know how she likes them!!!

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons May 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Ack! That picture of Lily sleeping in the nightstand totally melted my heart. What cuties! Both of them. And I think it’s so sweet that you bake them treats :) I only baked treats for my doggies once, but I make them a doggie cake for their birthdays every year :)

  4. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition May 14, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I’ve never tried making my own dog treats before…it might be a worthwhile experiment! I have 2 German Shepards. They are enormous and act as big cuddly teddy bears as if they were 20lbs!

  5. Jenny May 14, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I never thought I’d say this, but can I have what your dog’s having? I’ll let you walk me around on a leash for these babies. Yummmmmm

  6. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    They’re SO cute! I don’t have a dog, so I would probably eat these myself, haha!

  7. Jess@HealthyExposures May 14, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Um, I think I’d eat that dog food any day :P I love that you make them cookies! So sweet. I made Teddie cookies for Christmas and almost ate them myself, too. Whoops :X

  8. Stephanie May 14, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Your doggies are too cute :) I have two cats. They don’t really get along very well but they’re adorable.
    Also, I’ve heard that dogs can’t properly digest wheat.

  9. Christine (Merf) May 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is my very favorite doggggggg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Okay your pups are so adorable. What little cuties! I love them both!

  11. kissmybroccoli May 14, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Aww, thanks for the introductions! They are such cuties! Love the pic of Lily in the nightstand! haha! And I love that you made their treats heart-shaped! Too cute!

  12. Emily May 14, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    AH!! Your pups are TOO cute! The one photo of Lily in the nightstand is adorable. I love this post!

  13. Ma Ma Megan May 15, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Awe, I so want to make these for my pupster:)

  14. vegan aphrodite May 15, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Oh my, your dogs are SO CUTE! And I love that you are making them your own treats! Lucky dogs ;)

  15. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 15, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Aw your pups are adorable!! The first thing I’m going to do when I move out one day is to get a dog of my own!

  16. beautyrun May 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I think I may try this recipe for my dog. Are peanuts a common allergy for dogs?

  17. Mandi May 15, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Your dogs are absolutely adorable! And I love the treats. If only I had a puppy of my own to make them for. :/

  18. thequirkykitchen May 15, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    what a lovely post! you don’t often get dog treat recipes on food blogs – love it! and your pups are beautiful!

  19. fashionfitnessfoodie May 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    What a lucky dog. Peanut butter is the best treat!!

  20. Tara May 15, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Your dogs are too cute!! They’re so fluffy and I just want to hug them. I’ve never made dog treats for my dog before, but he is such a beggar and he would love them.

  21. megan @ the oatmeal diaries May 16, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Aww I want to make these for my pup! So cute!!

  22. Ada May 16, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    Awwwww, those pooches are SO adorable! They must have gone gaga over those treats;)

  23. czechvegan May 16, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    That is an extremely cute dog! He really deserves all his cookies:))

  24. BrittFit May 16, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I LOVE THIS POST! your dogs are sooooo cute! I need to make these treats for my wittle puppyy :) haha

  25. Kristen @ The Red Velvet Life May 16, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Your puppies are SO adorable! I’m hoping to get a fur baby with my husband sometime in the next few years. And I LOVE king charles spaniels! Both of your puppies are too precious! My family pets are mini schnauzers–Misha and Pasha. :) They’re characters!

  26. Alaina Rose @ Sweetness of Life May 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Aww such sweet doggies! And what awesome, simple doggie treats! That is so precious that you bake for your pups. Thanks for inspiring me to make my dogs some treats. I don’t know why I never thought of that before! Probably because if I made them treats, I’d end up eating them before they could get to them!! :-)

  27. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate May 16, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    My dog has a sensitive stomach and I’ll bet my life these will give him the runs. LOL.

  28. Caroline @ Out of Liney May 16, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Your dogs are adorable! Never tried making dog biscuits myself- great idea. My Lulu is fuzzy, slobbery ball of fur and I bet she’d love these.

    By the way, I love your blog! I’m going to post soon about trying your Crazy Salty Corny Cookies. Just added you to my roll

  29. Rach @ This Italian Family May 17, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    AHHH! Love this so much!! Your furbabies are so cute! And I love that you make your own doggie treats too. :)

  30. Kelsey @ Clean Teen Kelsey May 17, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    This is such a cute idea! I really want to make them… but my mom won’t let me because she doesn’t want me wasting my organic peanut butter on the dogs. Psh. :P

    I don’t know if they can have almond milk! Probably, right?

  31. Emily May 18, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I happy to see I am not the only person who blogs about their poodle! Cute little pup!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puppies like cookies too! | Keep'n The Faith - May 24, 2011

    […] lunch I decided to make some treats for Little Bear.  The incredible Nicole posted this recipe a while ago, and I knew Opie would love them. After all, puppies like cookies […]

Leave a comment